Go back

Athletic Committee

Membership: 6 Faculty, 3 Administrative/Professional staff outside athletics, 2 ex officio (director of athletics and senior woman administrator in athletics), Director of Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action ADA Coordinator and Deputy Title IX Coordinator, 4 students recommended by the Vice President and Athletic Director, Faculty Athletics Representative.

Description: The committee will regularly review issues associated with the welfare of student athletes participating in intercollegiate athletics in OVC and NCAA sports to ensure that the University and the Athletics Department maintain the proper balance between participation in athletics and academic achievement. The committee will prepare an annual report and other reports as needed, advising the president and the faculty senate of the athletic department’s performance with respect to its academic and athletic goals and with respect to the welfare of the student-athletes participating in OVC and NCAA sports. The committee will communicate the concerns of student-athletes participating in intercollegiate athletics to the faculty senate and the university community, including the athletics department, the university administration, academic departments, the faculty as a whole, and other groups as warranted.  

NCAA Division I Manual Composition. Administration and/or faculty staff members shall constitute at least a majority of the board in control of athletics or an athletics advisory board, irrespective of the president or chancellor’s responsibility and authority or whether the athletics department is financed in whole or in part by student fees. If the board has a parliamentary requirement necessitating more than a simple majority in order to transact some or all of its business, then the administrative and faculty members shall be of sufficient number to constitute at least that majority. (Revised: 3/8/06).

(Approver:  Athletics Director)

2022-2023 Membership

Name Area Department Service Term
Cindy Taylor, Chair Faculty, Athletics Representative Biology Defined by Position
Don Dailey Faculty, CoSTEM Biology 2021-2024
Christopher Wright Faculty, CoBHS Criminal Justice 2022-2025
Kathy Heuston Faculty, CoAL Communication 2022-2025
Jalesa Parks Faculty, CoE Teaching and Learning 2022-2025
Susan Cockrell Faculty, CoB Accounting and Finance 2022-2025
John Schnettler Faculty at Large, Director of Athletic Band Music ex officio
Kassie Stanfill Women's Softball Athletics 2021-2023
Kelley Board Staff, Advancement Coordinator University Advancement 2022-2023
Brad Allen Staff, Coordinator Foy Fitness Center 2022-2023
Michelle Turner Staff, Warehouse Finance and Administration 2022-2023
Gerald Harrison Staff, Athletic Director Athletics ex officio
Neisha Campbell Senior Woman Administrator Athletics ex officio
Sheila Bryant Staff, Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action Office of Equity, Access & Inclusion 2019-2023
Jau'von Young Student by Dir AAS Student Representative 2022-2023
Jack Fitzgerald Student by Dir AAS Student Representative 2022-2023
Alexis Osowski Student by Dir AAS Student Representative 2021-2023
Mikaela Smith Student by Dir AAS Student Representative 2021-2023

If you have questions, concerns, or would like more information about the Athletic Committee, please contact: Cindy Taylor
Email: taylorc@apsu.edu