Go back

Competency Model

The APSU MHA competency model is a slight adaptation of the Health Leadership Alliance’s (HLA) model. The program model is similar to HLA in that there are five domains, which were slightly revised to align better with the program mission, vision, and values. 

The program uses the following competencies as basis for the curriculum, course content, and learning objectives.

Domain 1:   Knowledge of healthcare systems

Domain 2: Communication and Interpersonal Effectiveness

Domain 3: Critical Thinking and problem solving

Domain 4: Management and  Business Skills

Domain 5: Leadership, Professionalism and Ethical Behaviors