Go back

College of Art and Letters at Austin Peay State University

Art Exhibition in the New Gallery

Diversity Statement

The College of Arts & Letters at Austin Peay State University is committed to an active, intentional, and ongoing engagement to foster diversity. Providing diverse voices and viewpoints is essential to achieving our mission and vision of educating informed global citizens. We welcome all people, regardless of age, disability, gender, gender expression, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, political views, or veteran status and we seek to safeguard the safety, dignity, and well-being of all people. We encourage and accept expressions of diversity in all of its forms.


CoAL Diversity Committee

2021 - 2022 Members

Dr. Andrea Spofford - Associate Dean
Dr. Soma Banerjee - History & Philosophy
Prof. Deonte Warren - Theatre & Dance
Dr. Janice Crews - Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts
Prof. Virginia Griswold - Art + Design
Dr. Yunying Chang - Communication
Dr. Michael Chandler - Music
Dr. Emily Crane - Music
Dr. Ayo Walker - Theatre & Dance
Dr. Cynthia McWilliams - Languages & Literature (University Diversity Committee Representative)

CoAL Diversity Task Force

2020 - 2021 Members

Andrea Spofford—Associate Dean
Ozzie DiPaolo-Harrison—Languages & Literature
David Walker—Art + Design
Leni Dyer—Theatre & Dance
Michael Chandler—Music
Karen Bullis—Communication
Soma Banerjee—History & Philosophy

2020 - 2021 Student Advisory Committee Members
Dee Sloss
Etenia Mullins
Conchetta Willis
Antonio Fields