Go back

Graduate Faculty Directory

Members of the graduate faculty have the depth and breadth of preparation and experience to offer students a full and well-balanced curriculum. They hold degrees from universities throughout the United States and include dedicated, published scholars committed to providing expert instruction within small seminar classes. In the creative writing program, resident faculty and renowned guest writers work with our students in intimate classes with a workshop atmosphere.
  

 

Wes Atkinson
Associate Professor
Email: atkinsonr@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7215
Office: Harned Hall, Room 203

Ph.D. (Lehigh University)
19th-C American Literature, Early American Literature, Native American Literature

Mercy Cannon
Professor, Chair
Email:  cannonm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7893
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 116

Ph.D. (U. Of Tennessee, Knoxville)
18th Century British Literature

 Linda Crenshaw
Professor
Email: barnesla@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7119
Office: Harned Hall, Room 220

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
American Literature, Southern Writers.

Jill Eichhorn
Associate Professor
Email:  eichhornje@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-6314 
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 143

Ph.D. (Miami of Ohio).
American Literature, Women's Studies
Coordinator of Women's Studies

Florian Gargaillo

Florian Gargaillo
Assistant Professor
Email: gargaillof@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7871
Office: Harned Hall, Room 236

Ph.D. in English Literature
Boston University

David Guest
Associate Professor
Email:  guestd@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7886
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 140

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
Literary Criticism and Theory, American Literature

Katherine Honea
Associate Professor
E-mail:  honeak@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7117
Office: Harned Hall, Room 223

Ph.D. (University of Florida)
Spanish (Hispanic Linguistics)

 Stephen Kershner

Stephen Kershner
Assistant Professor, Classics
Email: kershners@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-6828
Office: Harned Hal, Room 214

Ph.D. (SUNY Buffalo)
Latin Literature, Roman Social History, Literary History

Barry Kitterman
Professor
Email:  kittermanb@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7878
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 219

MFA (Montana) 
Faculty/Staff Ombudsperson

 

 Andrew Kostakis

Andrew Kostakis
Assistant Professor
Email: kostakisa@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7339
Office: Harned Hall, Room 105

Ph.D. (Indiana University - Bloomington)
Linguistics and Germanic Studies

No photo available

David Major
Professor
Email:  majord@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7927
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 228

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
Technical Writing

No photo available

Cynthia McWilliams
Associate Professor
Email:  mcwilliamsc@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7874
Office: Harned Hall, Room 232

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois) 
Composition and Rhetoric, Linguistics

Daniel P. Shea
Professor
Email:  shead@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7895
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 230

Ph.D. University of Oregon 
British Victorian

 

Marisa Sikes
Assistant Professor
Email:  sikesm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7212
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 234

Ph.D. University of New Mexico 
British Medieval

Karen D. Sorenson
Professor
Email:  sorensonk@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6246
Office: Harned Hall, Room 142

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt) 
French and Art History

Andrea Spofford
Associate Professor
Email: spofforda@apsu.edu
Phone: 221-7869
Office: Harned Hall, Room 118

Ph.D. (The University of Southern Mississippi)
Creative Writing, Poetry

Mickey Wadia
Professor
Email:  wadiam@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7448
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 227

Ph.D. (Southwestern Louisiana) 
Shakespeare, Technical Writing

No photo available

Charla White-Major
Associate Professor
Email:  majorc@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7133
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 212

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
19th Century American Lit. Composition

No photo available

Paula White
Assistant Professor
Email:  whitep@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7864
Office:  Harned Hall, 235

Ph.D. (University of Arkansas)
African American Literature, Women's Studies 

No photo available Jesse Williams, Jr.

Assistant Professor
Email:  williamsjl1@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7885
Office:  Harned Hall, 141

MFA (Screenwriting, Hollins University)
Ph.D. (Middle Tennessee State University)
African American Literature, Film Studies, Screenwriting

Timothy Winters
Professor
Email:  winterst@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7118
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 212

Ph.D. (Ohio State) 
Classical Languages and Literature

Amy Wright
Professor 
Email: wrighta@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7714
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 215

Ph.D. (Denver).
Creative Writing Non-Fiction
CECA Representative for Creative Writing