Skip Navigation

History of APSU Medical Technology Program

Plans for the Medical Technology program began in the late 1970's with Dr. Robert T. Crews hired in 1980 to begin the paper and administrative ground work for the program. Together with Dr. Ben P. Stone, Chair of the Biology Department, and Dr. Robert D. Robison, Dr. Crews found two clinical sites and the program accepted the first group of students in the summer of 1985. With six students, two faculty, and two clinical sites, the program started.

In 1992 a third faculty position was added. In the Spring of 1997, the APSU Medical Technology program was again awarded accreditation, this time for the next seven years.

After 18 years at APSU, beginning the Medical Technology program and receiving excellent reviews, Dr. Robert T. Crews officially retired at the end of June, 1998. In June of 1998, Dr. James F. Thompson was named Program Director.

In June of 1999, at annual Pinning ceremony, the Medical Technology Scholarship was announced and named for Robert T. Crews. Dr. Crews, the Medical Technology club and Lambda Tau had donated and raised funds until a small amount could be awarded. The Award was divided into the scholarship and a smaller leadership award and given out for the first time in the fall of 1999.

Program Directors

1985 - 1988 Dr. Robert T. Crews

1988 - 2002 Dr. James F. Thompson

2002 - 2004 Dr. Mary Mayo

2005 - 2010 Dr. Robert D. Robison

January 2010 to Present, Dr. Perry M. Scanlan

From 1986 to 2015 the program has had 410 students complete the Medical Technology Program.