Go back

Recognizing Achievements

Recognizing the latest accomplishments of our students, alumni, and faculty.



Austin Peay Seal
Dean's List, College of Business
We are proud to recognize students who have shown a commitment to academic excellence, earning a semester grade point average of 3.5 or greater, with placement on the Dean’s List.  


Austin Peay Seal
Dean's Circle Award, College of Business
The Dean's Circle Award is presented to graduating students who exemplify professionalism and academic excellence. This award was developed after the Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award was discontinued. In 2017, the award requirements were broadened to include one graduating student from each major.  
Austin Peay Seal
Financial Executives International Award
The Nashville Chapter of Financial Executives International honors an outstanding junior or senior student in accounting or finance student from each of the eight universities in Middle Tennessee.  
Austin Peay Seal
Carmen C. Reagan Outstanding Leader Awards
The Carmen C. Reagan Outstanding Leader Award was established to honor community and university leaders whose involvement has strengthened the College of Business. Dr. Reagan is a former dean of the College as well as a community volunteer and philanthropic leader.  



citation award
Spring of 2022, we introduced a new tradition to the College of Business. When a faculty member attains 100, 500, and 1,000 lifetime citations for their research, they will receive a citation award. Congratulations to our first recipients for reaching 100+ career citations each! Drs. Pilsik Choi, Elif Demiral Saglam, Emily Lean, Vikkie McCarthy, Gloria Miller, Mike Phillips, Al Tilooby, John Volker, and Xin Zhang
saglamElif Demiral Saglam, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Economics, recently embarked on her second year as a research fellow with the Harvard Kennedy School’s Women and Public Policy program. She is the first APSU faculty member to receive this honor, and the fellowship is a continuation of her desire to advance women and gender equity in the workforce.
Brandon Di Paolo Harrison

Brandon Di Paolo Harrison, Ph.D., Assistant professor of accounting, will take his accounting expertise to an international level thanks to a new research fellowship with the Universidad del Centro Educativo Latinoamericano (UCEL) in Argentina. Di Paolo Harrison will be the first fellow to receive the fellowship from outside of Latin America.

taylor awards 2021Susan Cockrell, Ph.D., Professor of Accounting, Elif  Demiral Saglam, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Economics, awarded 2021 AJ Taylor Distinguished Professorship Award. Dr. Cockrell received the award for teaching excellence and Dr. Demiral Saglam for excellence in research.
Jennifer Thayer
Thayer Jennifer, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Accounting, received Distinguished Faculty Award for Community Service by the Clarksville Chamber of Commerce.The award is based on service to the community with emphasis placed on contributions that have enhanced or will enhance the quality of life in the Clarksville/Montgomery County area.  


Pilsik Choi, Ph.D., assistant professor of MarketingPilsik Choi, Weisstein, Fei L., & Peter Andersen's paper, “The Role of External Reference Price in Pay-What-You-Want Pricing: An Empirical Investigation across Product Types,” was accepted by the Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services, an “A-ranked” peer-reviewed journal. 



Michael Phillips, John Volker, Susan Cockrell

Michael Phillips, Ph.D., professor of Finance, Ph.D., John Volker, Ph.D., professor of Management, and Susan Cockrell, Ph.D., professor of Accounting, recently had a paper, “A Student-Managed Investment Fund Course Design Structure, Managerial Finance," accepted for publication in the B-ranked peer-reviewed journal, Managerial Finance. 


Victoria McCarthy and Dong NyonnaVictoria McCarthy, Ph.D., professor of Management, and Dong Nyonna, Ph.D., professor of Finance, published a paper, “Developing a Culture of Corporate Social Responsibility: A Survey of Banking and Financial Institutions," in the Journal of Academy of Business and Economics.





Beth Bedwell JacksonBeth Bedwell Jackson ('86) was recently promoted to Vice President and Corporate Controller at Southwestern Family of Companies in Nashville, Tennessee. Jackson is a graduate from the accounting program and joined Southwestern Family of Companies in 1996. During her 22-year career with the company, she has risen through progressive promotions from senior accountant to accounting manager and assistant controller.  Read more
Larry CarrollLarry W. Carroll (‘76) was recently named among Forbes’ Top Wealth Advisors for the third year in a row.  Carroll, a 1976 APSU graduate of the accounting program, is president and CEO of the North Carolina-based Carroll Financial Associates, and he is considered one of the top financial planners in the nation. In 2012, the Tennessee Board of Regents honored him with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy for his generous support and outstanding volunteer efforts on behalf of his alma mater. In 2017, he became an inaugural member of the APSU Board of Trustees.
George OrtegaGeorge Ortega (’19) was recently acceptance to the University of Southern California’s Master of Business for Veterans (MBV) program through the Marshall School of Business. Ortega is a graduate from the management program. 
Ginna HollemanGinna Holleman ('95) was recently named Vice President of Marketing for Fortera Credit Union in Clarksville, Tennessee. Holleman is stepping down as Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director of United Way, a position she has held since 2012. Ginna is a graduate from the marketing program.