Go back

Political Science Departmental Scholarships

Apply for any Austin Peay State University scholarships here https://www.apsu.edu/scholarships

DEADLINE for the 2025-2026 academic year scholarships is February 1, 2025.

Peggy Steed Knight - Up to $1,100

The Peggy Steed Knight Scholarship was established in January, 2011. It is designed to assist a female student majoring Political Science who has a minimum GPA of 3.2 and a minimum ACT score of 25. The recipient must be a resident of Montgomery County, Tennessee and a non-smoker. Preference will be given to freshman or sophomore.

Warren-Northington Political Science Scholarship - Up to $2,000

The Warren-Northington Political Science Scholarship is established in memory of Vernon, Sr., Delta Warren, M.C. III, and Nancy Northington. The scholarship also is in memory of Dr. Vernon Warren, Professor of Political Science, who taught at Austin Peay for 38 years. Dr. Vernon Warren’s wife, Nell Northington Warren, finalized the establishment of this scholarship in October 2005 after Dr. Warren’s death on September 13, 2005. The scholarship will be awarded to a freshman political science student who is enrolled full-time and maintains a 3.0 GPA.

Odell M. Hargis Memorial Scholarship - Up to  $4,000

This scholarship awards a full-time sophomore, junior, or senior majoring in political science. The recipient must have an overall GPA of 3.0 and a GPA of 3.25 in the political science major. Preference will be given to students participating in Mock Trial and to a public high school graduate. Awards are one-time, but recipient(s) may reapply.

George O. Albright Scholarship - Up to $2,000

This endowed scholarship was established by the estate of the late George O. Albright, an Austin Peay alumnus. Preference will be given to a native of Montgomery County, Tennessee. The scholarship is for an upper-level political science or pre-law student with a genuine interest in the law, and a minimum 3.0 GPA. For further information, contact the Political Science Department, (931) 221-7515, P.O. Box 4748.

Montgomery County Bar Association - John H. Peay Scholarship - Up to $500

This scholarship was established in 2000 to honor the retirement of Judge John Peay. The annual scholarship is for a junior or senior pre-law student with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Selection will be made by the Political Science department scholarship committee. The award is for one year, but junior recipients may reapply. Recipient must have a strong desire to attend law school and pursue a career in law.

Joy Huggins Memorial Scholarship - Up to $500

The Montgomery County Republican Women’s Club sponsors this scholarship awarded to a sophomore, junior, or senior political science major with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA. Past recipients may reapply for the scholarship.

The Williamson-Kanervo Scholarship in Political Science - Up to $500

This scholarship was established by Drs. Ellen and David Kanervo in 1988 in honor of their parents, Margery and Kibler Williamson and Mary and Arvo Kanervo. This is an endowed scholarship that will be awarded annually to a junior majoring in political science or communication arts (journalism focus). The best qualified student from these two academic areas will be selected. When the corpus has grown to a sufficient size that an additional scholarship may be provided without reducing the corpus, a second scholarship will begin, one in journalism and one in political science. The recipient must be enrolled full-time with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA required for each semester. The recipient will be required to work two hours per week in the department of the student’s major.

The Honorable Wayne C. Shelton Endowed Scholarship - Up to $625

This scholarship was established by Judge Wayne C. Shelton recently. This is an endowed scholarship that will be awarded to one Political Science major annually with a strong desire to pursue law school. The student must have a 3.2 GPA and must be enrolled as a full-time student. 

The Political Science Alumni Endowed Scholarship - Up to $1,200

The Public Management Alumni Scholarship - Up to $100

Riley C. Darnell Legislative Internship Scholarship - Up to $2,000

This is an endowed scholarship that will be awarded annually to a Political Science or Public Administration major who is enrolled full-time with a 3.0 GPA. The student must be a junior or senior and must have been accepted into the legislative internship program in the Tennessee General Assembly through the Political Science & Public Management Department at Austin Peay. 

For further information contact the Department of Political Science and Public Management at (931) 221-7515 or disneye@apsu.edu.