Go back

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 13, 1913, by 22 collegiate women in Washington, D.C. on the campus of Howard University.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Since its founding, more than 250,000 women have joined the organization. 

The organization is a sisterhood of predominantly Black, college educated women. The sorority currently has approximately 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Republic of Korea.

Nickname: Delta’s
Mascot: Elephant 
Colors: Crimson and Cream
Flower: African Violet
Chapter Name: Iota Upsilon
Founded Nationally: January 13, 1913 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.
Founded Locally: January 20, 1973

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. President: Ashleigh Stephen

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. National Website