Go back

Admission Standards Committee

Membership: 7 Faculty (in the event a faculty member cannot participate in a meeting, the faculty member may designate his/her temporary replacement for that meeting from within the tenured or tenure track members of the faculty member’s college), Executive Director of Admissions, Representative from Enrollment Management and Academic Support, Vice Provost for Enrollment and Student Achievement & Registrar, Executive Director of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships, Director of Graduate Admissions & Recruitment, and Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students.

Terms of Service: Faculty members will serve a three-year term and can serve two consecutive terms. When consecutive terms have been served, a three-year break must occur before serving again.

Description: The committee has the responsibility to review applications of students who do not meet the stated admission requirements for the university. The committee may waive certain aspects of the admission requirements and admit no more than 10% of all accepted students. The committee will review the progress of these students and will recommend full admission status when they have satisfactorily completed the stipulations for conditionally admitted students. The appellate source for further consideration after the University Admissions and Standards Committee is the Dean of Enrollment Management or such other person as the president may designate. The committee will meet at least once at the beginning of each semester and may meet other times as needed. The Director of Admissions will serve as a non-voting chair of the committee.

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2022-2023 Membership

Name Area Department Service Term**
Jennis Biser Faculty, CoB Accounting, Finance & Economics 2022-2025
Terri Clark Faculty, CoBHS Nursing 2021-2024
Jalesa Parks Faculty, CoE Teaching and Learning 2022-2025
Meagan Mann Faculty, CoSTEM Chemistry 2021-2024
Spencer Prewitt Faculty, CoAL Music 2019-2025
Taylor Emery Faculty, APC@FT Languages & Literature 2020-2023
Isaac Sitienei Faculty, CoSTEM Agriculture 2021-2024
Amy Corlew, Chair* Enrollment Management Executive Director, Admissions Permanent Chair
Sherry Comperry Enrollment Management Registrar’s Office 2020-2023
Nancy KingSanders Student Achievement Vice Provost for Enrollment and Student Achievement & Registrar permanent member
Donna Price Enrollment Management Executive Director, Student Financial Aid and Scholarships permanent member
Megan Mitchell Academic Affairs, CoGS Director of Graduate Admissions & Recruitment permanent member
Greg Singleton Student Affairs  Associate VP for Student Affairs and Dean of Students permanent member

* Serves as non-voting convening Chair

Service Term is September through August
If you have questions, concerns or would like more information about the Admission Standards Committee, please contact: 

Amy Corlew, Chair
Email:  corlewa@apsu.edu