Go back

Music Education Online Resources

This page contains an inventory of music education websites where you can find resources, lesson plans, and other materials you will need for your music courses, and in your careers as music educators. The inclusion or omission of a weblink is not intended as an endoresement of any of the organizations, associations, or products listed below. While we regularly update this website, we cannot guarantee the functionality or contents of links that are not affiliated with APSU. If you encounter a link that does not function properly, contact Dr. Branscome at branscomee@apsu.edu.


 

Music Education Standards

Tennessee Standards for K-12 Music (2017 - temporary location) www.tn.gov/sbe/article/Other-Subjects
Tennessee Standards for K - 12 Music (1994) https://tn.gov/education/article/arts-education 
1994 National Standards for Music Education www.musicstandfoundation.org/images/National_Standards_-_Music_Education.pdf
DoDEA Standards (for Fort Campbell Schools) www.dodea.edu/Curriculum/music/standards.cfm
Kentucky Music Standards Kentucky adopted the NCCAS Standards (see link below)
NCCAS Core Arts Standards (2014) www.nationalartsstandards.org/

 


 

Lesson Planning & Song Collections

K-12 Resources for Music Educators https://sites.google.com/site/k12musicresources/
Kididdles: online children’s song library  www.kididdles.com
Elementary Music Lesson Planning http://mainlymusic.weebly.com/elementary-music.html
The Teacher’s Guide www.theteachersguide.com/ChildrensSongs.htm
Preschool Express www.preschoolexpress.com/music_station.shtml
Bus Songs http://bussongs.com/activity-songs.php
Songs for Teaching www.songsforteaching.com
Max Hunter Song Collection (Missouri State Univ.) https://maxhunter.missouristate.edu/indexsongtitle.aspx
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences http://kids.niehs.nih.gov/games/songs/childrens/index.htm
Singing Games for Children www.singinggamesforchildren.com
Preschool Education.com www.preschooleducation.com/song.shtml
Free clip-art gallery  http://school.discoveryeducation.com/clipart/
Public Domain Children’s Songs www.pdinfo.com/PD-Music-Genres/PD-Children-Songs.php
Choral Public Domain Library www.cpdl.org/
Scouting Songs www.scoutsongs.org
International Music Score Library Project http://imslp.org/
Kodály Music Education Institute of Australia www.kodaly.org.au/
The American Folk Song Collection (Holy Names University) http://kodaly.hnu.edu/
Nursery Rhyme Collections

http://nursery.zelo.com/

www.nursery-rhymes-collection.com/index.html

www.apples4theteacher.com/mother-goose-nursery-rhymes/

www.rhymes.org.uk

 


 

Assessment: Online Worksheets/Formative and Summative Grading Rubrics

RCampus Online Rubric Gallery (Music) www.rcampus.com/rubricshellc.cfm?mode=gallery&sms=publicrub&sid=23&
Music Tech Teacher www.musictechteacher.com/worksheets.htm
G Major Worksheets www.gmajormusictheory.org/Fundamentals/workbooks.html
TLS Books www.tlsbooks.com/musicworksheets.htm
Enchanted Learning www.enchantedlearning.com/music/
Making Music Fun http://makingmusicfun.net/htm/printit_notename.htm
University of Georgia Music Assessment http://research.franklin.uga.edu/assessment/content/welcome-music-assessment-site

 


 

Music Education Suppliers / Retailers

Elementary / General
West music www.westmusic.com/
Music K-8   www.musick8.com/
Music in Motion   www.musicmotion.com/
Rhythm Band Instruments www.rhythmband.com/
Suzuki Music www.suzukimusic.com/
Music is Elementary www.musiciselementary.com/store/
Sheet Music (purchase & rental)
J.W. Pepper   www.jwpepper.com/sheet-music/welcome.jsp
Pender’s Music www.penders.com/
Boosey & Hawkes  www.boosey.com/pages/licensing/
Edition Peters www.edition-peters.com/hire.php
Luck’s Music Library  www.lucksmusic.com/
Theodore Presser Co www.presser.com/Rental/
Schott Music  www.schott-music.com/shop/hire_material/orchestra/
Arrangers Publishing Co. www.arrpubco.com/
Hal Leonard Marching Catalog    www.halleonard.com/
Instruments and Supplies
Woodwind & Brasswind www.wwbw.com/
Interstate Music www.interstatemusic.com
Fork’s Drum Closet www.forksdrumcloset.com
Steve Weiss Music www.steveweiss.com
Lone Star Percussion www.lonestar.com
BandShoppe www.bandshoppe.com
American band www.americanband.com
Uniforms
Band: Demoulin www.demoulin.com/
Fruhauf http://fruhauf.com/
Fred J. Miller http://fjminc.com/
Stanbury  www.stanbury.com
BandShoppe (Guard) www.bandshoppe.com
Algy (Guard Uniforms)  www.algyteam.com
Choir: Cousin’s Concert Attire www.concertattire.com/
Formal wear Outlet www.formalwear-outlet.com/
Murphy Robes  www.murphyrobes.com/
Stage Accents www.stageaccents.com/
Miscellaneous
Music Technology: Sweetwater www.sweetwater.com/
Wenger Co. www.wengercorp.com/
Manhasset www.manhasset-specialty.com/

 


 

Music Tutoring and Review Websites

Music Theory Online Tutoring www.8notes.com
  www.teoria.com
  www.musictheory.net
  www.practicespot.com/theorycenter.phtml
Ear Training Online Tutoring www.8notes.com
  www.good-ear.com
  www.practicespot.com/rhythmgym.phtml (rhythm)
  www.practicespot.com/chordwizard.phtml (chords)
Music History Content www.wwnorton.com/college/music/grout8
  www.flashcardmachine.com/music-listening4.html
Music History Online listening  www.wwnorton.com/college/music/listeninglab/welcome2.htm
World Music  www.ancient-future.com
  www.routledge.com/cw/miller-9780415808231/s4/mcq-ch11/
Miscellaneous: Quizlet https://quizlet.com/

 


 

Resources for Music and Special Needs Learners

Music and Students with Special Needs www.people.vcu.edu/~bhammel/special/
The Full Pitcher Music Resources  www.fullpitcher.co.uk/specialneeds.htm
Songs for Teaching (focus on special needs) www.songsforteaching.com/specialneeds.htm
New Zealand Ministry of Education www.tki.org.nz/r/arts/music/specialneeds/

 


 

Professional Music Organizations

Visit the Department of Music's Directory of Professional Organizations for website URLs and additional information.