Go back

Graduate Academic Council

The Graduate Academic Council is the principal body for the establishment of policies and procedures relating to the administration of graduate programs. The purpose of the Graduate Academic Council is to provide for effective participation and deliberation by those concerned with graduate programs.

The Graduate Academic Council (GAC) receives and deliberates additions and amendments to graduate courses and curricula as well as policies/regulations/guidelines impacting graduate programs, and makes recommendations to University Academic Council and/or other University officials. GAC may initiate studies that are concerned with the welfare of graduate programs.

GAC is chaired by the College of Graduate Studies Dean and is comprised of a single representative from each graduate degree program*, a representative from Faculty Senate, a representative from the Office of the Registrar, a representative from the Library, a representative from Financial Aid, two graduate student representatives selected by the GAC chair, and a representative from Office of Student Research & Innovation. Graduate degree program representatives are selected by department chairs. Only faculty representatives from graduate degree programs and the Library have voting privileges. *Should a department have multiple graduate degree programs then the number of representatives will be determined by the Dean of the degree program’s College and the Dean of the College of Graduate Studies. 

2023-2024 Graduate Academic Council Meetings

Date Time Location
Wednesday, August 30, 2023 3 - 4:30 p.m. Virtual (Zoom)          
Wednesday, October 4, 2023 3 - 4:30 p.m. Virtual (Zoom)
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 3 - 4:30 p.m.                     Virtual (Zoom)             
Wednesday, January 10, 2024 3 - 4:30 p.m. Virtual (Zoom)
Wednesday, January 31, 2024 3 - 4:30 p.m. Virtual (Zoom)
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 3 - 4:30 p.m. Virtual (Zoom)
Wednesday, March 27, 2024 3 - 4:30 p.m. Virtual (Zoom)
Wednesday, May 1, 2024 3 - 4:30 p.m. Virtual (Zoom)


GAC Charge

Graduate Academic Council Members

Graduate Program Coordinators
Member Email Department
Dr. Wes Atkinson atkinsonr@apsu.edu Languages & Literature
Dr. Laura Barnett barnettl@apsu.edu Education
Dr. Kadi Bliss blissk@apsu.edu Health and Human Performance
Dr. Mollie Cashner cashnerm@apsu.edu Biology
Dr. Kim Coggins coggsinsk@apsu.edu Psychological Science & Counseling
Dr. Joseph Elarde elardej@apsu.edu Comp. Science & Information Tech.
Dr. Korre Foster fosterk@apsu.edu Music
Dr. Charles Gonzalez gonzalezc@apsu.edu Education
Dr. Andrew Hendrickson hendricksona@apsu.edu Health and Human Performance
Dr. Christina Hicks-Goldston hicksgoldstonc@apsu.edu Communication
Dr. Tatsushi Hirono hirinot@apsu.edu Social Work
Dr. Matt Jones jonesmatt@apsu.edu Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Kelly Kleinhans kleinhansk@apsu.edu Health and Human Performance
Dr. Valerie Leake leakev@apsu.edu Psychological Science & Counseling
Dr. Emily Lean leane@apsu.edu Management and Marketing
Dr. Jiang Li lij@apsu.edu Comp. Science & Information Tech.
Dr. Christine Mathenge mathengec@apsu.edu Earth and Environmental Sciences
Dr. Andrea Lee leea@apsu.edu Education
Dr. Michelle Robertson robertsonm@apsu.edu Nursing
Dr. Ramanjit Sahi rsahi@apsu.edu Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Adriane Sanders sandersam@apsu.edu Psychological Science & Counseling
Dr. Gregg Steinberg steinbergg@apsu.edu Health and Human Performance
Dr. Cameron Sutt suttc@apsu.edu History
Dr. Jennifer Yantz yantzj@apsu.edu Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Kathryn Woods woodsk@apsu.edu Leadership & Organizational Admin.
Dr. Christopher Wright wrightc@apsu.edu Criminal Justice
Dr. Michael Chandler chandlermd@apsu.edu Music
Dr. Benita Bruster brusterb@apsu.edu Education
Dr. Mir Hasan hasanm@apsu.edu Comp. Science and Information Tech.
Graduate Academic Council Sitting Representatives
Member Email Department
Jackson Carter   Student Rep
Maxwell Schaber   Student Rep
Harry Young youngh@apsu.edu Faculty Senate Rep
Catherine Winn winnc@apsu.edu Office of the Registrar Rep
Martina Malvasi malvasim@apsu.edu Library Rep
Randi Robinson robinsonr@apsu.edu Financial Aid Rep
College Deans
Member Email Department
Dr. Prentice Chandler chandlerp@apsu.edu Martha Dickerson Ericksson Col. of Ed.
Dr. Dlynn Williams williamsda@apsu.edu College of Behavioral Health & Sci.
Dr. Mickey Hepner hepnerm@apsu.edu College of Business
Dr. W. "Buzz" Hoon hoonb@apsu.edu College of Arts & Letters
Dr. Karen Meisch meischk@apsu.edu College of Science, Tech., Eng. & Math.
Department Chairs
Member Email Department
Dr. Robert Baron baronr@apsu.edu Communication
Dr. Beatrix Brockman brockmanb@apsu.edu Languages & Literature
Dr. Sue Evans evanss@apsu.edu Leadership & Org. Leadership
Dr. Jackie Vogel vogelj@apsu.edu  Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Nicole Knickmeyer knickmeyern@apsu.edu Psychological Sci. & Counseling
Dr. Cheryl Lambert lambertc@apsu.edu Teaching & Learning
Dr. Leong Lee leel@apsu.edu Comp. Science & Information Tech.
Dr. Tim Leszczak leszczakt@apsu.edu Health & Human Performance
Dr. John McConnell mcconnellj@apsu.edu Educational Specialties
Dr. Amye Melton meltona@apsu.edu Mgmt., Marketing & Gen. Business
Dr. Dong Nyonna nyonnad@apsu.edu Accounting, Finance, & Econ.
Dr. Ravi Manimaran manimaranr@apsu.edu Engineering Technology
Dr. Eve Rice ricem@apsu.edu Nursing
Dr. Kristen Sienkiewicz sienkiewiczk@apsu.edu Music
Dr. Kevin Tanner tannerk@apsu.edu History & Philosophy
Dr. Amy Thompson thompsona@apsu.edu Biology
Dr. Jeffrey Thompson  thompsonjd@apsu.edu Social Work


Affiliated Units
Member Email Department
Dr. Chad Brooks
AP for Research & Dean
brooksc@apsu.edu College of Graduate Studies
Ms. Megan Mitchell
mitchellm@apsu.edu Graduate Admissions & Recruitment
Ms. Alyson Morris
Admissions Processor
morrisal@apsu.edu Graduate Admissions
Dr. Tucker Brown
Senior VP & Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
brownt@apsu.edu Academic Affairs
Ms. Jasmine O'Brien
Curriculum Coordinator
obrienjr@apsu.edu Academic Affairs
Ms. Amy Corlew
Executive Director
corlewa@apsu.edu Admissions
Mrs. LaNeeca Williams
Chief of Institutional Culture and
Title IX Coordinator 
williamslr@apsu.edu Institutional Culture
Ms. Randi Robinson
Executive Director
robinsonr@apsu.edu Financial Aid & Veteran's Affairs
Ben Drummond
Executive Director
drummondb@apsu.edu Fort Campbell Center
Dr. Marissa Chandler chandlerm@apsu.edu International Student Services
Dr. Martina Malvasi
malvasim@apsu.edu Library Services
Ms. Catherine Winn
Associate Registrar
winnc@apsu.edu Office of the Registrar
Dr. Chad Brooks
brooksc@apsu.edu Research & Sponsored Programs
Student Research 
& Innovation