Skip Navigation
political science banner design Scenic view of APSU college students graduating

Political Science Departmental Scholarships

George O. Albright Scholarship.   
This endowed scholarship was established by the estate of the late George O.  Albright, an Austin Peay alumnus.  Preference will be given to a native of Montgomery County, Tennessee.  The scholarship is for an upper-level political science or pre-law student with a genuine interest in the law.  For further information, contact the Political Science Department,   (931) 221-7515, P.O. Box 4748.


Truman Hester Memorial Scholarship.  
The Montgomery County Republican Women’s Club sponsors this scholarship awarded to a sophomore, junior, or senior political science major with a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA.  Past recipients may reapply for the scholarship.  For further information, contact the Political Science Department, (931) 221-7515.

Montgomery County Bar Association - John H. Peay Scholarship.   
This scholarship was established in 2000 to honor the retirement of Judge John Peay.  The $500 annual scholarship is for a junior or senior pre-law student with a minimum GPA of 3.0.  Selection will be made by the Political Science department scholarship committee.  The award is for one year, but junior recipients may reapply.  Recipient must have a strong desire to attend law school and pursue a career in law.  For further information, contact the Political Science Department, (931) 221-7515, P.O. Box 4748.

The Williamson-Kanervo Scholarship. 
This scholarship was established by Drs. Ellen and David Kanervo in 1988 in honor of their parents, Margery and Kibler Williamson and Mary and Arvo Kanervo. This is an endowed scholarship that will be awarded annually to a rising junior. The recipient must be a student in the area of political science or journalism. The Departments of Political Science and Journalism and the Office of Admissions will make recommendations to the General Scholarship Committee. The best qualified student from these two academic areas will be selected.  The scholarship award will be $500. When the corpus has grown to a sufficient size that an additional $500 scholarship may be provided without reducing the corpus, a second scholarship will begin, one in journalism and one in political science. The recipient must be enrolled full-time with a minimum 3.0 GPA required for each semester. The recipient will be required to work two hours per week in the department of the student's major. (Also listed under Journalism) For further information contact the  Department of Political Science, APSU Box 4748, telephone (931) 221-7515.