Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff Information

NameContactOffice Hours                        
Amy C. Black
MSN, APN, FNP-C
Assistant Professor
E-mail: blackac@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7486

Monday 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
Friday 9:00 - 10:00 am

Linda DarnellLinda Darnell
MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
E-mail: darnelll@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-6359
Office: MC 307
Monday 7:30 -10:00 am, Thursday 1:00 - 4:00 pm, and by appointment
Doris DavenportDr. Doris Davenport
DSN, RN, PNP
Professor
E-mail: davenportd@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7467
Office: MC 328
Monday & Friday 8:00 am - 3:00 pm, Tuesday -Thursday by appointment
Dr. Deborah Ellison
Phd, MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
E-mail: ellisond@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7491
Office: MC 341
Monday & Friday 1:00 - 3:30 pm
Chita FarrarDr. Francisca “Chita” Farrar Ed.D, MSN, BSN, RN
Professor
E-mail: farrarf@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-6317
Office: McCord 305
1:15-3:15 pm Monday - Campus Hours

4:30-6:30 pm Monday- RODP Virtual

Office Hours
3:00-4:30 pm Tuesday - RODP

Virtual Office Hours
1:00-4:30 pm Thursday - RODP Virtual Office Hours
and by appointment
Kim FrenchKim French
Phd-c, MSN, FNP-BC

Associate Professor

E-mail: frenchk@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7528
Office: MC 303
Monday 10:00 am-12:00 pm, 3:00-4:00 pm, Friday 8:00 - 9:00 am, 11:15 am -12:15 pm
Gerri GassGerri L. Gass, MSN, RN
Coordinator of RN to BSN Program
Clinical Assistant Professor
E-mail: gassg@apsu.edu 
Phone: 931-221-6472 and 901-361-5822
Office: MC 312
8:00 am - 4:30 pm (except when off campus for recruiting)
Amy HamlinDr. Amy Hamlin
PhD, MSN, FNP-BC, APN
Associate Professor
E-mail: hamlina@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7497
Office: MC 311
Monday 9:00-10:00 am, 1:00 - 2:00 pm, Tuesday-2:00-3:00 pm, Wednesday 8:00-9:00 am, 12:00-1:00 pm
Kristen Hershey
PhDc, MSN, RN, CNE
Associate Professor
Email: hersheyk@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7823
Office: MC 341
Monday 10:00 am -12:00 pm, Friday 10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Shondell HicksonDr. Shondell Hickson DNP, APN, ACNS-BC, FNP-BC
Assistant Professor
Email: hicksons@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7172
Office:
MC 353D
Monday - Thursday and by appointment (hrs subject to change based on clinical assignments)
Steve LomaxStephen Lomax
MSN, MBA, RN
Assistant Professor
Email: lomaxs@apsu.edu
Phone: 931 221 6339
Office: MC 325
Monday 10:00 am -12:00 pm, Friday 10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Grace MoodtDr. Grace Moodt
DNP, MSN, RN
Associate Professor
E-mail: moodtg@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-6290
Office:
MC 309
Monday, Wednesday & Friday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Dr Patty OrrDirector of School of Nursing
Dr. Patty Orr EdD. MSN, BSN, RN
Associate Professor,
  Chair of Excellence
Email: orrp@apsu.edu 
Phone: 
931-221-7710 
Office: 
MC 218
Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Leslie ReedLeslie Reed
PhD-c,MSN, RN, HCNS, AHN-BC
Associate Professor
E-mail: reedl@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7462
Office:
MC 324
Monday 8:30 -11:00 am and 3:30 - 6:30 pm
Eve RiceMary Eve Rice
BSN,MSN,CPNP
Assistant Professor
E-mail: ricem@apsu.edu
Phone: 
931-221-7483
Office: 
MC 306
Monday 10:00 - 11:00am, 1:30 -3:00 pm. Friday 10:00 -11:00am, 1:00-2:30 pm, and by appointment.
Michelle RobertsonDr. Michele RobertsonDNP, MSN, APN, FNP-BC
Associate Professor

Email: robertsonm@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7489
Office:MC 313

Monday 9:00 - 10:30 am, 3:00 - 4:00 pm, Thurs 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Tasha Ruffin MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
Email: ruffint@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-6479
Office:
MC 314
Monday 8:00 -10:00 am & 1:00 - 4:00 pm, and by appointment
Bettina ShankBettina Shank MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
Email: shankb@apsu.edu
Phone
: 931-221-6344
Office
: MC 316

Monday 8:00 -10:00 am, 12:30 - 3:30 pm, Friday By appointment
thumb_linda.jpgDr. Linda Thompson
DSN, RN
Professor
E-mail: thompsonl@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7469
Office:
MC 326
Mon 12:00 or 1:15-4:00
Wed 12:00-4:00, Fri 8:00-11:00 (Please know, during September and October Dr. Thompson will be leaving campus at either 1:00, 1:30, or 2:00 PM for Physical Therapy. She will return for office hours unless a note is posted on her door.)
Danielle WhiteDanielle White
MSN,RN
Associate Professor
E-mail: whited@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7492
Office:
MC 330
Monday & Wednesday 8:30-10:00 am, Thursday at FCC 10:00 am- 2:00 pm, and by appointment.
Kathy ZimmermanKathy Zimmerman
MSN, APN, FNP-BC, AHN-BC
Associate Professor
E-mail: zimmermank@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-6287
Office:
MC 323
Monday 9:00-11:00 am, Friday 9:00-11:00 am and by appointment.
Tina_Profile.jpgTina Massey
Academic Specialist
E-Mail: prenursingadvisor@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7708
Office:
MC 322
Daily 8:30 am - 3:00 pm
Appointments Preferred: go to Pre-Nursing Advisor on this website.
Shirley Tabb
Administrative Assistant II
E-mail: tabbs@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7737
Office:
MC 218
Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:30pm
R. Keith Gipson
Records & Data    Coordinator
E-mail:gipsonr@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7087
Office: MC 336 A
Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 4:00 pm

The School of Nursing has 20 faculty members with a broad range of nursing expertise. Twenty percent (20%) of the faculty are doctorally prepared, with an additional 18% who are doctoral candidates. Over 50% of the faculty are prepared as advanced practice nurses (nurse practitioners or clinical nurse specialist) and/or are national certified.

The School of Nursing holds an endowed Chair of Excellence in Nursing. The chair holder is to provide expertise in scholarly and creative activities, grant writing, and faculty development.

The School of Nursing is part of the College of Behavioral and Health Sciences

Dr. David W. Denton, Dean
Office: McCord 214

Mary Dillard, Secretary
Phone: 931-221-6380
E-mail: dillardm@apsu.edu
Office: McCord 212