Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff Information

Dr. Tanya Beard
DNP, MSN, RN
Assista
nt Professor

Dr. Beard


Email:
beardt@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-6245
Office:
MC 321

Office Hours:
Available by e-mail and appointment.

Areas of Expertise

Adult Health and Diabetes.

 

Areas of Research
Diabetes
Nursing History

Linda DarnellLinda Darnell
MSN, RN
Assistant Professor



E-mail:
darnelll@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-6359
Office: MC 307

Office Hours: Mon 7:30 -10:00, Thurs 1:00 - 4:00, also by appointment

Areas of Expertise

Adult Health
Nursing Education

Doris DavenportDr. Doris Davenport
DSN, RN, PNP
Professor



E-mail:
davenportd@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7467
Office: MC 328

Office Hours:
Mon & Fri 8:00 - 3:00, Tues -Thurs by appointment

Areas of Expertise
Child Health


Areas of Research Interest:
Child Health
School Health

Deborah Ellison
Phd, MSN, RN
Assistant Professor

E-mail: ellisond@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7491
Office: MC 341

Office Hours:
Mon & Fri 1:00 - 3:30

Areas of Expertise

Adult Health
Critical Care

Chita FarrarDr. Francisca “Chita” Farrar
Ed.D, MSN, BSN, RN
Professor


E-mail: farrarf@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-6317
Office: McCord 305

Office Hours:
1:15-3:15 Monday - Campus Hours
 4:30-6:30 Monday- RODP Virtual Office Hours
 3:00-4:30 Tuesday - RODP Virtual Office Hours
 1:00-4:30 Thursday - RODP Virtual Office Hours
and by appointment

Areas of Expertise

Research
Critical Care
Mental Health
Simulation

Kim FrenchKim French
Phd-c, MSN, FNP-BC

Associate Professor


E-mail:
frenchk@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7528
Office: MC 303

Office Hours: Mon 10:00-12:00, 3:00-4:00, Fri 8:00 - 9:00 , 11:15-12:15

Areas of Expertise

Community Health Nursing
Family Health Promotion

Areas of Research Interest:
Health Literacy Nursing Education

Gerri GassGerri L. Gass, MSN, RN
Coordinator of RN to BSN Program
Clinical Assistant Professor


E-mail: gassg@apsu.edu 
Phone: 931-221-6472 and 901-361-5822
Office: MC 312 

Office Hours: 8 - 4:30 (except when off campus for recruiting)

Areas of Expertise
Adult Heath
Nursing Education 

Amy Hamlin Amy Hamlin
 PhD, MSN, FNP-BC, APN

 Associate Professor



E-mail:
hamlina@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7497
Office: MC 311

Office Hours:
Monday 9:00-10:00, 1:00 - 2:00, Tuesday-2:00-3:00, Wednesday 8:00-9:00, 12:00-1:00

Areas of Expertise

Maternal Child Health
Family Nurse Practioner
Nursing Education

Kristen Hershey
MSN, RN
Assistant Professor


Email:
hersheyk@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-7823
Office: MC 341

Office Hours: Mon 10:00-12:00, Fri 10:00- 1:00

Areas of Expertise

Adult Health
Child Health|
Nursing Education

Shondell HicksonShondell Hickson DNP, APN, ACNS-BC, FNP-BC
Assistant Professor



Email:
hicksons@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7172
Office: MC 353D

Office Hours: Mon - Thurs and by appointment (hrs subject to change based on clinical assignments)

Areas of Expertise

Infectious Disease
ICU and Med-Surg
Progressive Care



Jodie KushnerJodi Kushner
MSN, RN

Assistant Professor


E-mail:
Kushnerj@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-6344
Office:
Mc 316

Office Hours:
Mon 8:00-10:00, 1:00-2:30, Fri 8:00-10:00
additional office hours by appointment 

Areas of Expertise

Adult Health
Child Health
Nursing Education

Steve LomaxStephen Lomax
MSN, MBA, RN
Assistant Professor

Email: lomaxs@apsu.edu
Phone: 931 221 6339
Office: Mc 325

Office Hours: Mon 10:00-12:00, FRI 10:00 - 1:00pm

Areas of Expertise

Adult Health
Critical Care
Trauma
Leadership/Management

Grace Moodt Dr. Grace Moodt
 DNP, MSN, RN
 Associate Professor



E-mail:
moodtg@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-6290
Office: MC 309 

Office Hours:
Mon, Thurs & Fri 10:00-11:30, Mon & Thurs 1:00 - 3:00, all others by appointment

Areas of Expertise
Nursing Concepts
Maternal Infant Care 

Dr Patty Orr Dr. Patty Orr
 EdD. MSN, BSN, RN
 Associate Professor,
Chair of Excellence

 
Director of the School of  Nursing

Email: orrp@apsu.edu 
Phone: 931-221-7710 
Office: MC 218 

Office Hours:
 Mon - Fri 8:00-4:30

Areas of Expertise

Health Maintenance,
Chronic Disease, Research

Areas of Research
Disease Management, Chronic Care

Leslie ReedLeslie Reed
MSN, RN, HCNS, AHN-BC
Associate Professor



E-mail:
reedl@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7462
Office: MC 324

Office Hours by appt: Mon 8:30-10:45 and 3:30 - 6:15 (on maternity leave starting mid-Sept)

Areas of Expertise

Mental Health
Community Health
Alternative Nursing Therapies

Eve RiceMary Eve Rice
BSN,MSN,CPNP
Assistant Professor



E-mail:
ricem@apsu.edu

Phone: 931-221-7483

Office: MC 306

Office Hours: Monday 10:00 am-11:00am, 1:30pm-3:00pm. Friday 10:00am-11:00am, 1:00pm-2:30pm.

Other times by appt. only
Areas of Expertise

Child health and primary care with infants to college age 

Michelle RobertsonDr. Michele Robertson

DNP, MSN, APN, FNP-BC
Associate Professor



Email:
robertsonm@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7489
Office: MC 313

Office Hours:
Mon 9:00 - 10:30, 3:00 - 4:00, Thurs 10:00 - 12:00

Areas of Expertise

Adult Health
Urinary Health
Family Nurse Practitioner

Tasha Ruffin MSN, RN
Assistant Professor
Email:
ruffint@apsu.edu
Phone:
931-221-6479
Office:
MC 314
Office Hours:
Mon 8-10 & 1-4 Additional hours by appointment 

Areas of Expertise
Adult Health
Critical Care
Emergency Nursing 

thumb_linda.jpgDr. Linda Thompson
DSN, RN
Professor



E-mail:
thompsonl@apsu.edu

Phone: 931-221-7469

Office: MC 326

Office Hours:
Mon 1:15-4:30
Wed 12:00-4:00, Fri 1:00-2:00 

Areas of Expertise
Adult Mental Health
Research

Areas of Research Interest:
Chronic Mental Illness
Nursing Ethics
Image of Nursing

Danielle White Danielle White
 MSN,RN
 Associate Professor



E-mail:
whited@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7492
Office: MC 330

Office Hours: Mon & Wed 8:30-10:00, Thurs at FCC 10:00 - 2:00 & By Appt.

Areas of Expertise

Adult Health
Leadership and Management
Nursing Fundamentals

Areas of Research Interest:
Holistic Nursing
Nursing Ethics

Judy WoodwardJudy Woodward
MSN, RN
Assistant Professor



Email: 
woodwardj@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7486
Office: MC 301

Office Hours: Monday 8:00am-12:00pm Friday 9:00am-10:00am  and by appointment.

 

Areas of Expertise
Community Health

Areas of Research Interest
Vulnerable Populations

Kathy Zimmerman Kathy Zimmerman
 MSN, APN, FNP-BC, AHN-BC
 Associate Professor


E-mail:
zimmermank@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-6287
Office: MC 323

Office Hours: Monday 9:00am-11:00am. Friday 9:00am-11:00am and by appointment.

by appointment Mon & Fri

Areas of Expertise

Family & Child Health
Mental Health
Holistic Nursing
Alternative Nursing Therapies
Pharmacology


 Tina Massey

 Academic Specialist


 


E-Mail:
 prenursingadvisor@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7708
Office: MC 322

Office Hours: by appointment
Daily 8:30 - 3:00
Appointments Preferred: go to Pre-Nursing Advisor on this website.

Areas of Expertise
Academic Specialist
Pre-Nursing Advisor

Shirley Tabb
Administrative Assistant II


E-mail: tabbs@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-221-7737
Office: MC 218

Office Hours:
8:00-4:30 Mon-Fri

R. Keith Gipson

Records & Data Coordinator
E-mail:
gipsonr@apsu.edu

Phone: 931-221-7087
Office: MC 336 A

Office Hours: 7:30-4:00 Mon-Fri

The School of Nursing has 20 faculty members with a broad range of nursing expertise. Twenty percent (20%) of the faculty are doctorally prepared, with an additional 18% who are doctoral candidates. Over 50% of the faculty are prepared as advanced practice nurses (nurse practitioners or clinical nurse specialist) and/or are national certified.

The School of Nursing holds an endowed Chair of Excellence in Nursing. The chair holder is to provide expertise in scholarly and creative activities, grant writing, and faculty development.

The School of Nursing is part of the College of Behavioral and Health Sciences

Dr. David W. Denton, Dean
Office: McCord 214

Mary Dillard, Secretary
Phone: 931-221-6380
E-mail: dillardm@apsu.edu
Office: McCord 212