Go back

Art + Design hosting 51st Juried Student Art Exhibition

51(Posted April 2, 2019)

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – The Austin Peay State University Department of Art + Design is celebrating the end of the 2018-19 academic year with the 51st Annual Juried Student Exhibition. The professionally juried exhibition opened in The New Gallery on April 1 and runs through April 24. A reception and awards ceremony, which is free and open to the public, will take place from 5-7 p.m. on April 24.

The 51st Annual Student Juried Art Exhibition is professionally juried from outside Austin Peay, emulating the practice of real world art shows. The exhibition showcases the best artwork produced by students during the past year and gives students the opportunity to participate in a professional exhibition where a qualified juror selects artwork and artistic merit awards.

This year’s juror was Tad Carpenter. Carpenter is a designer, illustrator, author and teacher based in Kansas City, Missouri. He grew up the son of two artists “smack dab” in the Midwest. His father was an illustrator and a creative director for Hallmark Cards for more than 40 years, and his mother is a talented fiber artist. Carpenter has illustrated more than 20 children’s books, as well as designing more than 200 gig posters for musicians, bands and tours. Since 2009, he has taught graphic design at his alma mater, The University of Kansas, and he was named a graphic designer to watch by GDUSA in 2017.

As co-founder of Carpenter Collective, a design+branding studio, Carpenter has worked with national clients such as Coca-Cola, West Elm, AMC, Publix, Target, Hallmark and Old Navy. Recently, he was responsible for the visual identity for the 2018 Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

This year’s exhibition features 47 works of art, chosen from 267 submissions, created by the following artists: Al Best, Elissa Burgoyne, Carlos Carpena, Samuel Crockett, Amanda Dudley, Grace Gerlach-Brown, Charles Gozy, Shania Green, Clarissa Gunn, Christana Jones, Chris Kelley, Joe Klass, Stephenie Knight, Madeline Lee, Christina Lizura, Kyle Marshall, Kenneth McPhail, Kayla Patt, Tiffany Peck, Kori Pegram, Christina Polosky, Chelsey Robinson, Alexis Ryan, Katherine Tolleson, Jalondra Townsend, Khari Turner, Faith Watkins, Hope Watkins and Alyson Williamson.

The exhibition is open from 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. on weekdays. At 5:30 p.m. on April 24, the department will announce the award winners for the juried student exhibition, Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts Purchase Award winners and Summer Research Award recipients.

For information on this exhibition, contact Michael Dickins, gallery director, at dickinsm@apsu.edu.

News Feed

View All News

No items to display