Go back

 

Major Field Test

Most departments require graduating seniors to take an exam that covers topics specific to their major. Known as a Major Field Test, this exam is different from the Senior Exit Exam, which focuses on critical thinking and general education principles.

Seniors preparing to graduate with an associate's or bachelor's degree from the majors listed below should contact the department representative listed below for information about testing requirements. Seniors graduating from Education, Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing, Radiologic Technology and Special Education programs may be required to take licensure tests given in lieu of a Major Field Test. Degrees in Liberal Arts, General Studies and Leadership and Organizational Administration do not have a Major Field Test requirement.

Accommodations for distance learners and requests for exemptions must be directed to the department representative. To see a list of all graduation requirements, please visit the Office of the Registrar's website.

Contacts

Major   Contact Person   Email Address
Accounting   Margaret Douglas   douglasm@apsu.edu
Agriculture   Dr. Don Sudbrink   sudbrinkd@apsu.edu
Art    Dr. Tony Morris   morrisa@apsu.edu
Aviation Science   Charles Weigandt   weigandtc@apsu.edu
Biology   Dr. Amy Thompson   thompsona@apsu.edu
Chemistry   Donna Liverett   liverettd@apsu.edu
Communications   Cindy McElroy   mcelroyc@apsu.edu
Computer Information Systems   Dr. Jiang Li   lij@apsu.edu
Computer Information Technology   Dr. Jiang Li   lij@apsu.edu
Computer Science    Dr. Jiang Li   lij@apsu.edu
Criminal Justice   Melissa Boyer   boyerm@apsu.edu
Education   Jana Hatcher   hatcherj@apsu.edu
Engineering Physics   Dr. Alex King   kinga@apsu.edu
English  

Aubrey Collins

Kristi Wenzler

 

collinsa@apsu.edu

wenzlerk@apsu.edu

Finance   Margaret Douglas   douglasm@apsu.edu
Geosciences   Dr. Jack Deibert   deibertj@apsu.edu
Health & Human Performance   Kim Coats   coatsk@apsu.edu
History   Debbie Shearon   shearond@apsu.edu
Management   Margaret Douglas   douglasm@apsu.edu
Management Technology   Dr. Robert Halliman   hallimanr@apsu.edu
Marketing   Margaret Douglas   douglasm@apsu.edu
Mathematics   Dr. David Menser   menserd@apsu.edu
Medical Laboratory Science   Dr. Perry Scanlan   scanlanp@apsu.edu
Music   Dr. Eric Branscome   branscomee@apsu.edu
Physics   Sherry Bagwell   bagwells@apsu.edu
Political Science   Sage Disney   disneye@apsu.edu
Professional Communication   Cindy McElroy   mcelroyc@apsu.edu
Psychological Science   Dr. Nicole Knickmeyer   knickmeyern@apsu.edu
Public Management   Sage Disney   disneye@apsu.edu
Social Work   Dr. Barbara Beswick   beswickb@apsu.edu
Sociology   Kristal Butts   buttsk@apsu.edu
Theatre/Dance   Marcus Hayes   hayesma@apsu.edu

 

Graduates requesting their scores should contact the department that administered their exam.