Go back

Institutional Effectiveness Committee

Membership: 2 co-committee chairs and 1 committee co-chair elect recommended by the Provost/SVP of Academic Affairs and confirmed by the President, 1 college dean and 1 department chair appointed by Provost/SVP of Academic Affairs, 11 faculty appointees by faculty senate representing each college and Library, 5 appointees by Student Affairs, 3 appointees by Finance and Administration, 1 staff senate appointee, 1 appointee by Athletics, 2 committee advisors-Vice Provost/Associate VP Academic Affairs and Director of Institutional Effectiveness. There are 6 ex officio members: Provost, VP for Student Affairs, VP for Finance and Administration, Faculty Senate President, Student Government Association President, 1 appointee by Legal Affairs and Organizational Strategy. Members of the board are appointed for three-year renewable terms. There are no limits on reappointment.

Description: The committee will support the University’s commitment in establishing outcomes assessment as an ongoing and integral part of its culture and emphasis on quality programs and services. To accomplish this charge, the committee provides oversight, guidelines and resources for program-and unit-level implementation of assessment and evaluation activities. The committee reviews departmental institutional effectiveness reports of academic programs and non-academic units. The committee’s work supports activities pertaining to SACSCOC standards of institutional effectiveness and does not supplant the work of existing committees with a targeted role in assessment (e.g., General Education committee) or the work of discipline-specific accreditation or program review committees.  The chairs and/or co-chairs of this committee are responsible for preparing documents and/or presentations for the pre-semester calendar.  This committee may convene during August.

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2021-2022 Membership:

Name Appointment Role Area Service Term*
Lisa Sullivan, Chair, Co-chair Faculty, CoSTEM Chemistry 2021-2024
Kristen Hershey, lead Co-chair Faculty, CoBHS Nursing 2021-2024
Dale Pickard, co-chair elect Faculty, COAL Theatre and Dance 2021-2024
Karen Meisch Provost/AA co-chair appointed Dean, CoSTEM 2021-2024
Samuel Ligo Faculty, CoSTEM Mathematics 2021-2024
Phillip Short Faculty, CoE Education 2019-2022
Kakali Chakrabarti Faculty, CoAL Communication 2019-2022
Allen Chaparadza Faculty, CoSTEM Chemistry 2021-2024
Ellen Brown Faculty, Library Library 2021-2024
Elizabeth Rankin Faculty, CoB Management and Marketing 2021-2024
Wes Atkinson Faculty, CoAL Languages and Literature 2019-2022
Elizabeth Rankin Faculty, CoB Management and Marketing 2021-2024
Eva Gibson Faculty, CoBHS Psychological Sciences and Counseling 2021-2024
Patrick Vincent Faculty, CoAL Art & Design 2021-2024
Debbie Ellison Faculty, CoBHS Nursing 2021-2024
Tammy Bryant Student Affairs Appointee Student Affairs 2020-2023
Ashley Kautz Student Affairs Appointee Nontraditional Student Center 2019-2022
Alex Wills Student Affairs Appointee Service Learning 2018-2022
Zack Inman Student Affairs Appointee Housing 2021-2024
JaCenda D. Robinson Finance and Administration Appointee Assistant Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer 2021-2024
Tom Hutchins Finance and Administration Appointee Executive Director, Physical Plant 2020-2023
David Sanchez Finance and Administration Appointee AVP/CIO Information Technology 2020-2023
Lorneth Peters Staff Senate Appointee Director TSBDC 2019-2022
Riley Plenge Athletics Appointee Athletic Academic Services 2020-2023
Tucker Brown  Interim SVP/AVPAA Academic Affairs

permanent non-voting         

Maria Cronley Provost Academic Affairs ex officio
Amanda Wornhoff Director, IEA, Committee Advisor Academic Affairs permanent non-voting
Vacant Vice President for Student Affairs Student Affairs  ex officio
Mitch Robinson Vice President for Finance and Administration Finance and Administration  ex officio
Jane Semler Faculty Senate President Faculty Senate  ex officio
Kito Aruh Student Government Association President Student Government Association  ex officio
Kat Bailey Legal Affairs and Organizational Strategy Appointee Research Analyst  ex officio

For more information about this committee, contact:  

Lisa Sullivan
Email: sullivanl@apsu.edu

Kristen Hershey
Email: hersheyk@apsu.edu