Skip Navigation
seniors holding diplomas

Major Field Test

Most departments require graduating seniors to take an exam that covers topics specific to their major. Known as a Major Field Test, the exam is different from the Senior Exit Exam, which focuses on general education.

Seniors preparing to graduate with a Bachelor's degree from any of the majors listed below should contact the department representative listed to schedule testing. Students graduating from majors not listed below should contact their academic advisor to see if an exit exam is required. Seniors graduating from Allied Health, Education and Nursing programs are required to take licensure tests given in lieu of a Major Field Test.

All requests for exemptions must be directed to the department representative. Exemptions given for the Senior Exit Exam do not apply to the Major Field Test requirement. To see a list of all graduation requirements, please visit the Office of the Registrar's website.

Contacts

MajorContactE-MailPhone
AgricultureDr. Don Sudbrinksudbrinkd@apsu.edu931-221-7272
BiologyDr. Cindy Taylortaylorc@apsu.edu931-221-7784
BusinessMargaret Douglasdouglasm@apsu.edu931-221-7674
ChemistryDonna Liverettliverettd@apsu.edu931-221-7626
CommunicationsDr. Mike Gotchergotcherm@apsu.edu931-221-7364
Computer ScienceBetty Leimerleimerb@apsu.edu931-221-7840
Engineering TechnologyDiane Meyermeyerd@apsu.edu931-221-1470
EnglishSherry Clarkclarkso@apsu.edu931-221-7890
Health & Human PerformanceKim Coatscoatsk@apsu.edu931-221-6111
HistoryPamela Allenallenp@apsu.edu931-221-7919
MathematicsMelody Shipleyshipleym@apsu.edu931-221-7833
PhysicsSherry Bagwellbagwells@apsu.edu931-221-6116
Political ScienceDr. Marsha Lyle-Gongalylegongam@apsu.edu931-221-7583
PsychologyJamie Gaithergaitherj@apsu.edu931-221-7233
Public Mgmt./ Criminal JusticeCarmen Grissomgrissomc@apsu.edu931-221-1480
Social WorkMary Fran Davisdavism@apsu.edu 931-221-7717
SociologyLinda Camposcamposl@apsu.edu931-221-7515

All Major Field Test results are reported back to each department. Graduates requesting their scores should contact the department that administered the exam.