Skip Navigation

Institutional Review Board

Membership 2014-2015:
  • Dixie Dennis, Dean, College of Graduate Studies, IRB Administrator, ex officio

  • Omie Shepherd, Faculty Representative, Chair, (2nd year 2nd term)

  • Bettie Barrett-Wiggins, Faculty Representative (1st year 2nd term)

  • Eric Branscome, Faculty Representative (3rd year)

  • Debbie Ellison, Faculty Representative (1st year)

  • Kristen Hershey, Faculty Representative (1st year 2nd term)

  • Linda Davis, Faculty Representative (1st year 2nd term)

  • Thomas Ely, Community Representative (ex officio)

  • Jill Franks, Faculty Representative (1st year 2nd term)

  • Tanya Beard, Faculty Representative (2nd year)

  • Uma Iyer, Faculty Representative (2nd year of 2nd term)

  • Holly Tapp, Faculty Representative (3rd year)

  • Yunying Zhang, Faculty Representative (3rd year)

  • William Glunt, Faculty Representative (2nd year)

  • Jane Stevens, Student Representative (1st year)

      The committee is responsible for implementation and enforcement of federal laws and regulations governing human research as well as APSU Policy 2:002, Research Involving Human Subjects. APSU's agreement with the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Human Subjects Protection requires that APSU policy apply to all research involving human subjects, and all other activities which, even in part, involve such research, regardless of sponsorship, if one or more of the following apply:

      1.   The research is sponsored by this institution; or

      2.   The research is conducted by or under the direction of any employee or agent of the institution in connection with his or her institutional responsibilities; or

      3.   The research is conducted by or under the direction of any employee or agent of this institution using any property or facility of this institution; or

      4.   The research involves the use of this institution’s non-public information to identify or contact human research subjects or prospective subjects.

       The committee reviews and approves all planned/proposed research, development, and related activities involving human subjects to ensure that applicable federal laws and regulations protecting humans who volunteer to serve as research participants. APSU policy requires all research protocols involving human subjects to be reviewed whether or not such research is considered exempt under federal regulations. No research at Austin Peay is exempt from the review and approval policies and procedures.  

      Members of the board are appointed for three-year renewable terms. There are no limits on reappointment.


If you have questions, concerns, or would like more information about the Institutional Review Board, please contact:  

                         Omie Shepherd