Go back

Non-Traditional Scholarship Opportunities

APSU offers several scholarships to non-traditional students. Some of these scholarships are designed for specific majors, and there may be additional requirements. Non-traditional students should note that they may be eligible for scholarships beyond those specifically for non-traditional students, so they should conduct thorough research each year to apply for all the scholarship opportunities that are applicable to them.

The online scholarship application is used to apply for non-traditional scholarships, and every student is recommended to fill out this application as early as possible each year.


Beta Sigma Phi Scholarship (Laureate Eta Chapter) Scholarship

Award Amount: Up to $700

This scholarship was established by the ladies of the Beta Sigma Phi Laureate Chapter in order to provide assistance to a female student who exhibits excellence in academic and community service. Recipient must be a full-time (12 or more hours per semester) junior or senior. The recipient must have a minimum 3.0 GPA, give a listing of extracurricular activities, note additional support received, and submit an essay explain why they have financial aid, including this award, must be less than the recipient's total tuition and fees. Recipient is selected upon scholastic achievement and financial need, with priority given to a student majoring in nursing.

For more information contact University Advancement at (931) 221-7127.

Charles R. Nichols Memorial Endowment

Award Amount: Up to $1000

This scholarship is provided by Mrs. Nichols in memory of her late husband Charles R. Nichols. The main focus for the scholarship is on non-traditional adult student who is self-sufficient and holding outside employment in addition to taking classes. The scholarship is available to a full or part-time student with a minimum of 9 credit hours. Recipient must be a junior or senior student majoring in business with a minimum 2.5 GPA.

For more information contact the College of Business at 931-221-7674.

Department of Physics Freedom Award

Award Amount: Up to $1000

Established by John and Heidi Willis, this scholarship provides an award to a non-traditional physics major while they are building a permanent endowment to support the scholarship. Recipients should have a 3.0 GPA and be active duty military, veteran, or reservist. If active duty, veteran, or reservist criterion are not met priority will be given to a candidate who has a parent that is active duty, reservist, or veteran.

For more information contact the Department of Physics at (931) 221-6116.

Floyd and Sara Ford Memorial Scholarship Endowment

Award Amount: Varies

This scholarship was established in honor of Floyd and Sara Ford. Selection will be made by the Biology Department Scholarship Committee. The recipient must be considered a non-traditional student with a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0. Preference will be given to students majoring in biology, and living in Austin Peay's primary service region. Recipients may be either full-time or part-time.

For more information contact the Department of Biology at APSU P.O. Box 4718, (931) 221-7781.

Howell C. Smith, Jr. and Sr. Transfer Scholarship

Award Amount: Up to $3000

These scholarships are available to non-traditional transfer students who have achieved a minimum cumulative grade-point average (GPA) of 3.0 with at least 24 earned credit hours. These scholarships may be awarded before or after any deadline on a first-come, first-served, declining funding basis. Meeting stated eligibility criteria does not guarantee receipt of a scholarship. Austin Peay State University reserves the right to cancel or change the amount, eligibility criteria and/or deadline of this scholarship, at anytime. The scholarships may be renewed up to 4 consecutive semesters, if the student maintains a 2.75 GPA each semester. Students must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours each semester and a minimum of 24 credit hours per academic year.

Recipients are required to complete 75 service hours in the University Advancement Office during for each semester the scholarship is received. A student who loses his/her scholarship for any of the above reasons may complete an appeal form requesting reinstatement after the lapse of at least one full semester. This reinstatement allowance can be exercised only one time and is dependent upon funding availability.

For more information contact the Office of Admissions at (931) 221-7661.

Jacob Benjamin Morris Ramos Memorial Scholarship

Award Amount: Up to $1000

The Jacob Benjamin Morris Ramos Memorial Scholarship is a scholarship that will be shared between three of our departments. The award will be made on a yearly rotating basis in the following order: Chemistry, Biology and Physics. The recipient must be a full-time, non-traditional student earning a 3.25 GPA or better. The award will first be offered to a senior. A junior may be selected if a senior is not available. Special consideration will be given to Montgomery County residents as well as an active XEM, BBB, or Del Square Psi member. Austin Peay State University reserves the right to cancel or change the amount, eligibility criteria and/or deadline of this scholarship at any time.

For more information contact your respective department.

James Eric Lannom Memorial Scholarship

Award Amount: Up to $1500

This scholarship, established in 1989 by a generous gift from the employees of the Clarksville Department of Electricity, is awarded annually. The recipient may be enrolled part-time, but must take a least nine credit hours per semester. A minimum cumulative GPA of 2.75 is required to retain this scholarship. The award is based upon need and the recipient may study in any academic area. The recipient must be a non-traditional student who can demonstrate financial need. (An example would be a single parent who must give up his/her job to complete academic studies.)

For more information contact the General Scholarship Committee, APSU Box 4546, telephone (931) 221-7907.

John E. Mayfield Endowed Scholarship

Award Amount: Up to $1200

This is a second scholarship created by Mr. John E. Mayfield. Interest on an endowed scholarship will fund an annual scholarship. Criteria for consideration: 2.5 minimum GPA, full-time or part-time, and open to any major. Recipient must be from Cheatham County, non-traditional (adult learner) student with established financial need strongly considered.

For more information contact the Student Financial Aid at (931) 221-7907.


For questions and comments regarding scholarships, please contact us through APSUScholarships@apsu.edu.