Skip Navigation

University Experts List

This experts list is designed to provide media, who wish to add depth or clarification to their stories, a list of experts on various topics around the university. If you are unable to find the appropriate expert, please call Charles Booth in the Office of Public Relations and Marketing, 931-221-7597.


Dewey A. Browder
Professor and chair of history and philosophy
Phone: (931) 221-7924
Email: browderd@apsu.edu

Topic: German-American relations, Holocaust, modern Germany, military affairs, military history


Willodean D.S. Burton
Professor of biology
Phone: (931) 221-7778
Email: burtonw@apsu.edu

Topic: Ecotoxicology, human anatomy and physiology


Jill Eichhorn
Associate professor of women's studies
Phone: (931) 221-6314
Email: eichhornje@apsu.edu

Topic: Women writers, academic discipline of women's studies, women's history, gender, violence against women


Christos Frentzos
Assistant professor of history
Phone: (931) 221-7945
Email: frentzosc@apsu.edu

Topic: Cold War, Korean War, Vietnam War, unconventional warfare


Moniqueka Gold
Associate professor of education
Phone: (931) 221-7518
Email: goldm@apsu.edu

Topic: Disabilities and African-Americans, albinism, visual impairment; and special education


Steven W. Hamilton
Professor of biology
Phone: (931) 221-7783
Email: hamiltonsw@apsu.edu

Topic: Entomology, aquatic biology


Brian J. Hock
Assistant professor of psychology
Phone: (931) 221-1045
Email: hockb@apsu.edu

Topic: Animal behavior, wildlife rehabilitation, Alzheimer's disease, amnesia, learning and memory, scuba diving


David Kanervo
Professor and chair of political science and sociology
Phone: (931) 221-7581
Email: kanervod@apsu.edu

Topic: American politics


Phillip R. Kemmerly
Professor of geosciences
Phone: (931) 221-7471
Email: kemmerlyp@apsu.edu

Topic: Earthquakes, groundwater issues, sinkholes


Thomas King
Professor of music
Phone: (931) 221-7648
Email: kingt@apsu.edu

Topic: Performance anxiety remedies, European travel, genealogy, opera, German language and translation


Sherry Koontz-Howell
Secretary
Phone: (931) 221-7378
Email: koontzs@apsu.edu

Topic: Reptiles (native and non-native)


Jeff Lebkuecher
Professor of biology
Phone: (931) 221-6249
Email: lebkuecherj@apsu.edu

Topic: Algae ecology, plant ecology, botany, plant physiology


Sarah Lundin-Schiller
Associate professor of biology
Phone: (931) 221-6335
Email: schillers@apsu.edu

Topic: Endocrinology and endocrine disruption, eukaryotic cell biology


Sergei A. Markov
Associate professor of biology
Phone: (931) 221-7440
Email: markovs@apsu.edu

Topic: Russian culture, Russian language and translation production of biofuels by microorganisms (biohydrogen, biodiesel) and reactors


David G. Nelson
Assistant professor of history
Phone: (931) 221-7920
Email: nelsond@apsu.edu

Topic: Japanese culture, samurai thought and culture, Japanese language and translation, early modern Japanese crime and punishment, East Asian history


Tom O'Connor
Assistant professor/program manager of Criminal Justice/Homeland Security program
Phone: (931) 221-1477
Email: oconnort@apsu.edu

Topic: Internet security, homeland security, terrorism, criminal justice, criminology


Jerry Plummer
Assistant professor of economics
Phone: (931) 221-6222
Email: plummerj@apsu.edu

Topic: African-American banking, personal budgeting and finance, insurance history in the South, economics, general taxation, state budgeting and economics, Internet security, World Wide Web, commercial radio broadcasting and production, international broadcasters, shortwave radio


Norbert Puszkar
Assistant professor of German
Phone: (931) 221-6391
Email: puszkarn@apsu.edu

Topic: German culture, German literature, German language and translation


Jeanie Randall
Associate professor of English
Phone: (931) 221-7212
Email: randallj@apsu.edu

Topic: Arthurian legend, composition, Elizabethan drama, Jane Austen, holistic scoring, medieval literature, women's equality issues


William (Bill) Rayburn
Associate professor and director of School of Business
Phone: (931) 221-7675
Email: rayburnw@apsu.edu

Topic: Business strategy, strategic planning, technology and change, Ella Fitzgerald


Michelle Rogers
Biology instructor
Phone: (931) 221-6480
Email: rogersm@apsu.edu

Topic: Environmental education, water quality education, biology education


Betsie Rothermel
Assistant professor of biology
Phone: (931) 221-7774
Email: rothermelb@apsu.edu

Topic: Amphibian ecology, human impact on nongamewildlife, conservation biology


Perry M. Scanlan
Assistant professor of clinical microbiology
Phone: (931) 221-6495
Email: scanlanp@apsu.edu

Topic: Medical technology, bioterrorism, infectious diseases, mycology (fungi), virology (herpes virology), microbiology (bacteria), MRSA, medical technology


Joe Schiller
Associate professor of biology
Phone: (931) 221-7249
Email: schillerj@apsu.edu

Topic: Aquatic ecology, behavioral ecology of skinks, effects of coal mining on stream ecology, water quality, renewable energy, water quality assessment


A. Floyd Scott
Professor of biology
Phone: (931) 221-7776
Email: scotta@apsu.edu

Topic: Amphibians and reptiles of Tennessee


Charles Booth
Assistant Director of Communication
Phone: (931) 221-7597
Email: boothcw@apsu.edu

Topic: News reporting and editing, newspapers


Gregory Singleton
Dean of students
Phone: (931) 221-7341
Email: singletong@apsu.edu

Topic: Code of student conduct and university discipline, Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), fraternity and sorority life


Philenese Slaughter
Assistant professor/instruction librarian
Phone: (931) 221-7741
Email: slaughterp@apsu.edu

Topic: Native American


Carter F. Smith
Assistant professor of public management and criminal justice
Phone: (931) 221-6984
Email: smithcf@apsu.edu

Topic: Police organizations and activities, criminal investigations, homeland security, terrorism, criminal street gang culture, criminal and civil anti-gang prohibitions, military-trained gang members and private security


David R. Snyder
Assistant professor of history
Phone: (931) 221-7923
Email: snyderdr@apsu.edu

Topic: Military history


Taylor P. Stevenson
Assistant professor of economics
Phone: (931) 221-7565
Email: stevensont@apsu.edu

Topic: Regulation, economics, public policy


Stephen A. Truhon
Assistant professor of psychology
Phone: (931) 221-6333
Email: truhons@apsu.edu

Topic: Child, adolescent and adult development, military psychology, equal opportunity


Minoa Uffelman
Associate professor of history
Phone: (931) 221-7704
Email: uffelmanm@apsu.edu

Topic: Southern history, Southern women, Tennessee history, women's history


David Michael von Palko
Professor of communication, director of broadcast and cable operations
Phone: (931) 221-6364
Email: vonpalkod@apsu.edu

Topic: Media criticism, media culture, media law, constitutional law, copyright, First Amendment issues


Jeff Walton
Help Desk manager, Office of Information Technology
Phone: (931) 221-6312
Email: waltonj@apsu.edu

Topic: Choosing the right computer, computer maintenance, computer repair, Nissan 300ZX automobiles


Timothy Winters
Professor of classics
Phone: (931) 221-7118
Email: winterst@apsu.edu

Topic: Archaeology (classical, ancient Greece and Rome), ancient Greek and Roman literature, Greek language and translation, Latin language and translation


Mary Lou Witherspoon
Professor of mathematics
Phone: (931) 221-1005
Email: witherspoonm@apsu.edu

Topic: K-12 mathematics


Disclaimer: Any information or statement provided by any expert listed on this site is provided personally by that individual and does not constitute an official position of the University.  Austin Peay State University assumes no liability, express or implied, for any opinions or statements made by any of these individuals.  This web site is a service of Austin Peay State University for the benefit of the media to facilitate access to the individual experts who are employed by or affiliated with APSU.