Go back

Distinguished Undergraduate Research Mentor

The Distinguished Undergraduate Research Mentor award is designed to encourage, recognize, and reward the individual efforts of APSU faculty who demonstrate an extraordinary commitment as mentors of undergraduate students in research or creative activities outside their normal classroom assignments.

Through the presentation of this award, we hope to convey APSU's high regard for undergraduateresearch and creative activities, to honor the practice of mentoring, and to recognize contributionsmade by faculty to the academic and research community.

  • All tenured and tenure-track faculty and full time instructors from any college are eligible.
  • Faculty must be nominated for the award by their supervisor or colleagues
  • Nominees must demonstrate tangible evidence of mentorship with undergradaute students
  • Evidence can be demonstrated in the form of attendance at conferences or professional meetings, performances, presentations, publications, etc.

The award consists of a $1,000 travel award for reimbursement or available in the following fiscal year, an engraved plaque, and formal recognition at the college's spring awards ceremony.

2013: Dr. Samuel Jator
2014: Dr. Justin Oelgoetz
2015: Dr. Ben Ntatin
2016: Dr. Minoa Uffelman 

The nomination form opens a new window. Click Here.