Go back

Theta Delta Chapter  

Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society was founded in 1921 to promote the study of History.  With over 740 chapters, it is one of the largest honor societies in existence. Austin Peay State University's chapter, Theta-Delta, was established in 1961 and is the third oldest chapter in the state of Tennessee.  Phi Alpha Theta holds national and regional meetings, sponsors eight national scholarships annually, and publishes a quarterly journal, The Historian. Membership is open to anyone with a vital interest in History who has demonstrated high achievement in History courses. Undergraduates may join after completing 12 semester hours in collegiate History courses, with a grade point average of at least 3.10 (on a 4.0 scale) in History courses, and a grade point average of at least 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) in all other collegiate work, provided they rank in the highest 35% of their class. It is not necessary to be majoring in History. Persons who would have qualified while students may join after graduation. Anyone interested in joining should speak with the chapter's faculty advisor to make arrangements for being initiated into the chapter.  

Costs: $50 covers all costs of initiation, including $6 local chapter dues (subject to change). Initiates receive one year's subscription to The Historian as part of their initiation at no additional charge, and may continue to receive the journal thereafter by paying the annual subscription fee.  

Theta-Delta Chapter Faculty Advisor:  
Dr. Somaditya Banerjee, Harned 343, 931-221-7916; e-mail: banerjees@apsu.edu