Go back

Student Wellness Steering Committee

Membership by position: Senior Woman Administrator, Athletics; Associate Dean, College of Behavioral and Health Sciences; Chair, Department of Health and Human Performance; Chair, Department of Psychological Science and Counseling; Chair, Department of Social Work; Chair, School of Nursing; Director, Counseling and Health Services (Chair); Director, University Recreation; Education Faculty Member; Military Advisor in Residence; Vice President for Student Affairs; and at least two students.

Terms of Service: Education Faculty Member and student members will servce a one year term.

Description: The Student Wellness Steering Committee is responsible for monitoring the work of committees devoted to student wellness. Reporting committees include, but are not limited to, Alcohol and Other Drug (AOD) Committee, Health Promotion Committee, and Mental Health and Wellness Committee. The steering committee will nominate chairs and members of committees to Faculty Senate. The steering committee will ensure delivery of effective strategic planning, policy development, population assessment, internal and external communication, and community building in the interest of creating a culture of student wellness at the University.

(Approver: Vice President of Student Affairs)

2022-2023 Membership:

Name Area Department Service Term
Claudia Alonzo, Chair Coordinator of Student Wellness and Prevention Counseling and Health Services 2022-2023
Jessica Fripp Faculty, COBHS Associate Dean, COBHS 2021-2023
Greg Singleton Interim VP for Student Affairs Student Affairs 2022-2023
Melissa Gomez Kates Faculty, CoBHS Health & Human Performance 2020-2023
Tucker Brown Academic Affairs Senior Vice Provost and AVP for Academic Affairs 2020-2023
Cheryl Lambert Faculty, CoE Education 2021-2023
Walt Lord Military Advising Military Advisor In Residence 2021-2023
Eve Rice Faculty, CoBHS Nursing 2020-2023
Niesha Campbell Senior Woman Administrator Athletics 2022-2023
Timothy Self Faculty, CoB Management and Marketing 2021-2023
David Davenport Staff, Student Affairs Director, University Recreation 2020-2023
Nicole Knickmeyer Faculty, CoBHS Psychological Science and Counseling 2020-2023
Crystal Henson Director, Counseling and Health Services Student Counseling Services 2022-2023
Stacy Murphree Campus Minister Minister 2021-2023
Lynn Fisher Finance and Administration Emergency Management 2020-2023
Ellie Wiggins Student Affairs Student Representative 2022-2023
Elijah Patrick Student Affairs Student Representative 2022-2023
Iva Rubio Student Affairs Student Representative 2020-2023
Owen Medrano Student Affairs Student Representative 2022-2023

If you have any questions, concerns, or would like more information about the Mental Health and Wellness Committee, please contact:

Claudia Alonzo, Chair

Email: alonzoc@apsu.edu