Skip Navigation


Policy Number: 2:008 Supersedes Policy Number: None

Date: February 2, 2001 Dated: May 18, 1999

Subject: Faculty Post-Retirement Program (FPRP)

Initiating Authority: Vice President for Academic Affairs

TBR Policy/Guideline Reference:

Approved: President: Signature on File

Austin Peay State University values the knowledge and service of senior faculty members

and supports the opportunity for retired faculty to continue sharing their wisdom and

talents with students and junior faculty.

Austin Peay's commitment to post retirement must be considered in relationship to the

resources of the academic unit and to the University as a whole. As departments continue

to benefit from the service of retired faculty, they must meet the current and future

demands of the department for instruction, advisement, scholarship, and service.

Austin Peay State University will continue to provide opportunity for eligible faculty to

participate in the Faculty Post-Retirement Program (FPRP), subject to Tennessee Board

of Regents (TBR) approval of the program and subject to the TBR guidelines for the

TBR program.

Based on anticipated funding levels, departments may hire eligible retired faculty up to

four years for a minimum of 20% (6 credit hours or the equivalent) to a maximum of

50% (15 credit hours or the equivalent) of their base salary per year for instructional


All faculty will be eligible to apply for post-retirement teaching for 20%-30% of their

base pay. To be eligible to apply for over 30% of their base pay, the amount saved must

be sufficient to hire a new faculty member for the University. Because beginning

teaching salaries vary within the University, amounts for post- retirement eligibility also

will vary. No faculty will be approved for more than 50% of their base pay.

Appointments for non-instructional responsibilities will be considered on an exceptional

basis, depending on the retiring faculty member's unique capabilities and departmental

needs. Exceptions must be supported by the Vice President for Academic Affairs and

approved by the President.