Skip Navigation

Academic Hall of Fame


The APSU Academic Hall of Fame

Established by PKP Chapter 191 in 1997 to Honor APSU Alumni.


Those selected for induction into the Academic Hall of Fame are honored at the annual initiation celebration. As part of a permanent tribute, the names of those inducted are permanently displayed on a plaque housed in the library.

Candidates are identified through a nomination process. While it is not necessary for a nominee to hold membership in Phi Kappa Phi, the nominees must be alumni of Austin Peay who, since graduating, have demonstrated through his/her life the beliefs of Phi Kappa Phi, and have distinguished themselves professionally or who have made an outstanding contribution to society and humanity.

[Note: Because the executive committee of APSU Phi Kappa Phi agreed that those APSU faculty who are also alumni of APSU can be honored through the Socrates, Hawkins, Distinguished Faculty Member, and Community Service awards, APSU faculty members are not to be nominated for this award.]

 In 2005, with a special retroactive induction of seven prior Academic Hall of Fame inductees into Phi Kappa Phi, the chapter further honored all prior Academic Hall of Fame inductees with membership in Phi Kappa Phi, if they were not already members. From 2005 onward, Academic Hall of Fame inductees will always be further honored with the award of membership in Phi Kappa Phi if they are not already members.

1997 Inductees:

Steve Frost, Research Director, Worth Magazine, New York City, New York

Gordon Jackson, Attorney and Author , Memphis, Tennessee

Carol Mathis Joiner, Nashville Attorney, Nashville, Tennessee

Lawson Mabry, Realtor and Community Leader, Clarksville, Tennessee

Ramona Lumpkin, Academic Dean, University of Windsor, Ontario

Mary Noble, Circuit Court Judge, Fayette, KY

Cheryl Zack, award winning Author, Franklin, Tennessee

George Zepp, Night Editor of The Tennessean newspaper, Nashville, Tennessee

1998 Inductees:

Richard J. Jensen, Biologist, St. Mary's College , Notre Dame, Indiana

Linda Rudolph, Tennessee State Commissioner of Human Services, interim VPAA APSU, Clarksville, Tennessee

B. Eugene Wofford, Biologist, University of Tennessee at Knoxville, Knoxville, Tennessee

1999 Inductees:

William Ronald Mills, Biologist, University of Houston - Clear Lake, Texas

George Murphy, Biologist, Midle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

2000 Inductees:

James B. Mitchell, Biologist, National Cancer Institute (NCI), National Institutes of Health (NIH), Bethesda, Maryland

Sallie Hampton Ellis, Teacher (Retired), Clarksville, Tennessee

Jack W. Sites, Jr., Biologist, Brigham Young University (BYU), Provo, Utah

Michael L. Davis, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army, Army Corps of Engineers Civil Works Program, Washington, D.C.

2001 Inductee:

Joe F. Jerles, Musician, Teacher and Consultant, Clarksville, Tennessee

2002 Inductee:

Barbara Barnett Wilbur, Educator, Clarksville, Tennessee

2003 Inductees:

Ronnie D. Carter, Founding Member of the Transportation Security Administration, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Timothy D. Cleaveland, Historian, Athens, Georgia

2004 Inductees:

Ronald I. Miller, Physicist and Senior Intelligence Officer, Defense Intelligence Agency Missile and Space Intelligence Center, Redstone Arsenal, Alabama

Joe P. Minor, Tennessee Bureau of Investigation Special Agent and Forensic Scientist, Nashville, Tennessee

2005 Inductees:

Timothy Fox, Physicist and Therapeutic Radiation Oncologist, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia

Monte Gates, Neurobiologist, Keele University, Keele, Staffordshire, United Kingdom

2006 Inductees:

Varie Hudson-Hawkins, Educator, Clarksville-Montgomery County School System, Clarksville, Tennessee

Nick T. Tooley, Attorney, Clarksville, Tennessee

2007 Inductees:

David Alford, Actor, Director, Film Writer and Producer, Nashville, Tennessee

Katherine Elizabeth (Blaise) Clarke, Officer, US Army and Author, Macon, Missouri

J. Thomas Shaw, Alexander Pushkin Scholar, (professor emeritus), University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin

2008 Inductee:

Janet G. Thompson, Educator, Clarksville-Montgomery County School System, Clarksville, Tennessee