Skip Navigation

Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships

What is the SURF Program?

The Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship program provides $1000 to student-faculty teams in support of summer-length scholarly and creative activity. SURF awards are a great way for APSU undergraduate students to gain initial experience with research, work on a small project, and work closely with a faculty mentor.


  • Summer 2014

Who is eligible?

  • All current undergraduates, including seniors who are graduating in May.

How much is the fellowship?

  • The fellowship is a $1000 award paid as a student stipend.

How many fellowships will be given for 2014?

  • 8

What is required?

  • A completed application form including a description of your project and a faculty member's letter of support.
  • A proposed research project which will be completed over the summer between May 12 and August 25.  Exact dates and times may be determined by the student-faculty research team.
  • Attendence and participation in the Summer Research Symposium, usually held during the first week of the Fall semester.  All projects should be complete by this event.

How do I apply?

Application deadline?

  • April 18, 2014 by 5:00pm


  • Contact OUR by email or phone 931-221-7625

2013 SURF Program

 May 13-August 24, 2013

2013 Fellows

  • Gwendolyn Hay, Department of History and Philosophy, Advisor: Jason Verber
  • Zachary Holtel, Department of Biology, Advisor: Rebecca Johansen
  • James Martin, Department of Geosciences. Advisor: Kallina Dunkle
  • Kayla Pendergrass, Department of Geosciences, Advisor: Chris Gentry
  • Ashly Roby, Department of Chemistry, Advisor: Robin Reed
  • Jeremy Trimble,  Department of Chemistry, Advisor: Carrie Brennan
  • Diana Trinh, Department of Biology, Advisor: Chris Gienger
  • Dylan Wood, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Advisor: Justin Oelgoetz
  • Laura Zahn, Department of Biology, Advisor: Sarah Lundin-Schiller

2012 SURF Program

 May 14-August 24, 2012

2012 Fellows

  • Eva Grebe, Department of Biology, Advisor: Chris Gienger
  • Joe Harms, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Advisor: Justin Oelgoetz
  • Kristen Knight, Department of Mathematics and Statistics. Advisor: Ayman Alzaatreh
  • Kayla Pendergrass, Department of Geosciences, Advisor: Chris Gentry
  • Aaron Ross, Department of Biology, Advisor: Chris Gienger
  • Rob Shepard,  Department of Biology, Advisor: Dwayne Estes
  • Ashley Wallace, Department of Art, Advisor: Ken Shipley
Summer Research Symposium held Friday, August 31, 2012 from12:00 to 2:00pm in the Honors Commons

2011 SURF Program

May 16 - June 24, 2011

First Fellows

  • Meaghan Sikes  (Education,  Advisor: Sheila Pirkle)
  • Dianne Torres  (Chemical Engineering Technology,  Advisor: Phil Hall)
  • Megan Walker  (Biology,  Advisor: Gilbert Pitts)

Reception held Friday July 1, 2011 from1:00 to 2:00pm in Room 202 Hemlock Semiconductor Building