Skip Navigation

Three faculty receive special honors

December 17, 2001

During Austin Peay State University's Winter 2001 Commencement, held Friday, Dec. 14, three faculty received the coveted Socrates Award, a special recognition of tenure-track faculty known for excellence in teaching.

The Socrates Award recipients for 2001 are Dr. Rhonda M. Bryant, assistant professor of psychology; Connie Medford-Bowman, assistant professor of nursing; and Dr. John Volker, assistant professor of management.

Bryant joined the faculty in the psychology department in 1999, after earning her doctorate in counselor education from the University of Virginia. Her master's and bachelor's degrees also are from the University of Virginia.

She has served on the African American Cultural Center Advisory Committee, Minority Undergraduate Admission and Retention Committee, Student Standing Committee and the Faculty Senate.

Professional memberships include the American Counseling Association, American School Counselors Association and Southern Association for Counselor Educators and Supervisors. She is on the program review team of the Council on Counseling and Related Educational Programs Accreditation Board.

In his nomination, Dr. Charles Grah, psychology department chair, said, "Dr. Bryant has a very deep and genuine concern for her students. This attitude pervades every interaction she has with her students, both in and out of class."

During five years of teaching in APSU's baccalaureate nursing program, Connie Medford-Bowman's students consistently give her high marks for creatively and effectively facilitating their learning and caring about their progress.

She received the 1998 Dorthea Orem Award for Outstanding Senior Instructor, the 999 Outstanding Classroom Instructor Award and the 2000 Outstanding Clinical Award, all by student vote. Her colleagues also selected her for the 1999 Faculty Mentoring Award.

Dr. Kathy Martin, director of the APSU School of Nursing, said, "In addition to excellent teaching, Ms. Bowman has served as a role model for nursing students through her involvement in ongoing clinical research and publication, as well as community service at both the professional and concerned-citizen level."

Dr. John Volker has been a contributing member of the APSU College of Business team for more than 12 years as director of the Small Business Development Center, adjunct instructor and, most recently, as assistant professor.

He earned his bachelor's degree and MBA from Murray State University. His doctorate is from Walden University, a Web-based program originating in Minneapolis.

"Dr. Volker is an enthusiastic and creative teacher who readily shares his extensive business experience with students, both inside and outside the classroom," says Stephanie Newport, interim chair of the department of business. "His approach to teaching is one of creating a dynamic, interactive forum for the exchange and development of ideas and concepts. His creativity is evident in every facet of teaching."

Socrates Award recipients receive a cup created by Dr. Jim Diehr, APSU professor of art, and a $500 stipend.