Skip Navigation

Sundquists, Hoppes and APSUNAA present Governor's Gala

April 16, 2002

Presented by Tenn. Gov. Don Sundquist, First Lady Martha Sundquist, Dr. Sherry Hoppe, APSU president, and Bob Hoppe, the upcoming Governors Gala is hosted by the APSU National Alumni Association.

The evening's activities begin at 6:30 p.m., Friday, May 10 on the covered patio at Pace Alumni Center at Emerald Hill. Along with heavy hors d'oeuvres, the gala offers a live band and dancing, as well as a short program with special presentations. The cost is $50 per person; dress is semi-formal.

"It was the generosity of many alumni, especially Wayne and Bobbi Pace, that enabled the Pace Alumni Center at Emerald Hill to undergo badly needed renovations," said Nelson Boehms, APSU National Alumni Association president. "The mansion will be open at the gala, and we encourage everyone to tour the house and see the improvements."

According to Shelia Boone, director of alumni and annual giving, the Alumni Subcommittee of the 75th Anniversary Committee volunteered last fall to host the gala as a one-time event and the culmination of APSU's 75th Anniversary, Spring Commencement and the grand reopening of the Pace Alumni Center at Emerald Hill after more than a year of extensive renovations.

Boone said, "We're delighted Gov. and Mrs. Sundquist want to help honor the late Gov. Austin Peay and acknowledge his many contributions to the University and community."

Boone, who is an ex officio member of the committee, expressed appreciation to Boehms and the following members of the 75th Anniversary Subcommittee for their work on this project: Fessey Hackney and Dewayne McKinney, both past presidents of the APSUNAA; Nancy Ladd, co-president of the Montgomery County Chapter; Gina Castleberry; Maggie Kulback; and Dorosia Black.

For more information about the Governors Gala, telephone the APSU Alumni and Annual Giving Office at 7979.