Skip Navigation

Service of Employees Recognized at Awards Program

September 18, 2000

Austin Peay staff members received recognition at the 2000 Service Awards Program sponsored by Human Resources in a Sept. 12 ceremony held in the theatre of the music and mass communication building.

Three people were named Employee of the Year in the categories of support, clerical and professional, retirees were recognized and several employees received service pins for working here from five to 40 years.

The Employees of the Year are:
*Cedrick McKinney, assistant facilities manager, in the support category.
*June Lee, personnel assistant in Human Resources, in the clerical category.
*Kathy Stamper, assistant director of Human Resources, in the professional category.

Retirees who were recognized included Betty McClain, executive aide to the vice president for finance and administration, retired after 40 years of service to Austin Peay; Tom Brennan, custodian for nine years; Ken Johnson, assistant director of custodial services, retired after13 years; Bill Taylor, Physical Plant director, retired after 17 years; Gerald Van Dyke, custodian, retired after 16 years; Genie Redd, custodian, retired after six years; and Russell Morris, custodian, who retired after nearly 30 years of service to Austin Peay.

Service pin recipients and their years of service are:
*Betty McClain, Finance and Administration, 40 years.
*Phyllis Whittaker, Accounting Services, 30 years.
*Glinda Manning, Athletics, and Cynthia Moseley, Accounting Services, 25 years.
*Rita Austin, Custodial Services; Marlon Crow, Center for Creative Arts; Ruthie Nolan, Custodial Services, Norma Jean Smith, Music, 20 years.
*Nancy Hamel, Book and Supply Store; Donna Johansen, Accounting Services; Nathaniel Jones, Custodial Services; Bill King, Maintenance; Wendell Maynard, Power Plant; Roger Reed, Power Plant; Sharon Silva, University Advancement; Mickey Turner, Grounds; Gerald VanDyke, Custodial Services; Sherrie Wallace, Art, 15 years.
*Denise Anthony, College of Education; Judy Blain, Business Office; Tammy Bryant, Student Affairs; Brenda Burney, Financial Aid; Kenneth Corbin, Custodial Services; Laura Crain, Post Office; Elvis Forde, Athletics; Myra George, Veterans Upward Bound; Annelle Gracey, Developmental Studies; Timothy Hardy, Custodial Services; Barbara Howell, Post Office; Dessie Jones, Custodial Services; Sandra Leath, Child Learning Center; Diane Meyer, Accounting Services; Joan McKinney, Financial Aid; Arthur Neal, Veterans Upward Bound; Beulah Oldham, Disability Services; Connie Sonnier, Enrichment Programs; Sonja Stewart, Auditing; Ronald Szlosek, Public Safety; Kim Traylor, Computer Services; Denice Williamson, Accounting and Finance; Blanche Wilson, Child Learning Center, 10 years.
*Jackie Allegood, Education; Debbie Bedell, Athletics; Anthony Cage, Custodial Services; Henry Campbell, Custodial Services; Sharon Conner, Registrar's Office; Darlene Dunbar, Admissions; Kimberly Elliott, University Advancement; Rhonda Flenniken, Registrar's Office; Melanie Gardner, University Advancement; Yolanda Hairston, AP Center at Fort Campbell; Rose Marie Hendricks, Custodial Services; John Johnson, EOC; Tracey Kirk, Veterans Upward Bound; Annette Marks, Health Services; Ed Nushardt, Registrar's Office; Cindy Patterson, Accounting Services; Kris Phillips, Alumni Relations; Genie Redd, Custodial Services; Marco Torres, Custodial Services; LaVerne Walker, Affirmative Action, five years.