Skip Navigation

Roxy directors given award by Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts

January 8, 2001

John McDonald, artistic director of the Roxy Regional Theatre, and Tom Thayer, managing director of the Roxy, are the sixth and most recent recipients of the Ovation Award.

The award is given to someone who has made significant contributions to the artistic and cultural life of the University, community and region.

In honor of their selection, McDonald and Thayer were presented engraved crystal plaques by Dr. George L. Mabry, director of the Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts, Marlon Crow, associate director of the Center, and Dr. Sara Gotcher, theatre coordinator for the Center. The presentation was made Wednesday, Nov. 29, at the opening night of the AP Playhouse production “She Loves Me!” directed by Thayer.

McDonald and Thayer opening the Roxy in 1983 and have since produced more than 200 productions. They also created the Roxy Theatre's Professional Company, which has reached thousands of school-aged children through selected productions in schools.

Former Ovation Award recipiennts include James Mann, Mabel Larson, Peg Harvill, Olen Bryant, Arthur Goldsmith and Charlsie Halliburton.