Skip Navigation

Provost Lecture Series at APSU kicks off 2011-12 academic year


Several faculty members at Austin Peay State University will present their research and creative activity on campus during the 2011-12 academic year as part of the weekly Provost Lecture Series.

The Provost Lecture Series will kick off with a talk by Dr. Amy Wright, assistant professor of creative writing and the nonfiction editor of APSU’s Zone 3 journal and Zone 3 Press, from 3-4:30 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 1 in the Morgan University Center, Room 303.

Other sessions in the Provost Lecture Series also are planned for the academic year. All sessions are from 3-4:30 p.m. in the MUC, Room 303 (unless noted otherwise) and include the following:

Sept. 8: Dr. Ben Ntatin, associate professor of mathematics

Sept. 15: Dr. Donald Luck, professor of education

Sept. 22: Dr. Clark Maddux, associate professor of English

Sept. 29: Dr. Rebecca Jones, associate professor of chemistry

Oct. 6: Dr. Dwayne Estes, associate professor of biology

Oct. 13: Dr. Korre Foster, assistant professor of music

Oct. 20: Susan Bryant, professor of art

Oct. 27: Angelina Fowler, Center of Excellence for Field Biology

Nov. 3: Dr. Dan Frederick, professor of geology and geography

Nov. 10: Dr. Kathrine Flower, assistant professor of sociology

Nov. 17: Darren Michael, associate professor of theater and dance

Dec. 1: Dr. Tim Leszczak, assistant professor of health and human performance

Jan. 12: Dr. Ellen Smyth, instructor of mathematics

Jan. 19: Dr. Ann Silverberg, professor of music

Jan. 26: Dr. Marsha Lyle-Gonga, assistant professor of political science

Feb. 2: Dr. Rebecca Johansen, assistant professor of biology

Feb. 9: Dr. Sergei Markov, associate professor of biology

Feb. 16: Cynthia Marsh, professor of art

Feb. 23: Dr. Christine Mathenge, associate professor of geology

March 1: Dr. Robert Shelton, associate professor of chemistry

March 15, MUC 307: Dr. Allyn Smith, associate professor of physics

March 22: Dr. Sharon Mabry, professor of music

March 29: Dr. Cameron Sutt, assistant professor of history

April 5: Mark DeYoung, assistant professor of art

April 12: Dr. Tim Winters, professor of English

April 19, MUC 103: Dr. Jeffrey Wood, professor of music

The Provost Lecture Series seeks to foster a spirit of intellectual and scholarly inquiry among faculty, staff and students. The program will be used as a platform for APSU faculty members who are recent recipients of provost summer grants, who have been awarded faculty development leaves and who have engaged in recent scholarly inquiry during sabbatical leaves.

APSU faculty members with recent research of acclaim also will be given a platform within this series. In addition, other faculty members of local or widespread renown will be invited to lecture within this series.

For more information about the Provost Lecture Series, call Dr. Brian Johnson, assistant vice president of academic affairs at APSU, at (931) 221-7992 or email him at -- Melony Shemberger