Skip Navigation

Presidential Research Scholars competition announced

February 19, 2001

The Presidential Research Scholars competition is open to undergraduate students in biology, chemistry, geology/geography, math/computer sciences, physics and psychology.

Applicants must identify a faculty member who agrees to serve as mentor/collaborator for the proposed research project. There is a limit of one student application per faculty member.

Awards will be based on a competitive proposal prepared jointly by the applicant scholar and his or her faculty mentor. Students may apply for awards at $3,000 or $1,500 levels.

For assistance in identifying a potential mentor, students may contact a member of the Presidential Research Scholars Steering Committee, which includes Dr. Don Dailey, biology; Dr. Daniel Frederick, geology/geography; Dr. Todd Lafrenz, chemistry; Dr. David Menser, math and computer science; Dr. Nanci Woods, psychology; Dr. Pei Xiong-Skiba, physics; or Dr. Maureen McCarthy, psychology.

Proposal guidelines will be available in the Office of Grants and Sponsored Programs (Browning 212) on Feb. 23. The deadline for submission of proposals is March 23, and awards will be announced no later than April 10.

If you need additional information, contact the Office of Grants and Sponsored Programs at 7881 or e-mail to