EUGENE, Ore. – Austin Peay State University's baseball team saw its 2012 campaign come to a close with an 8-1 loss to Oregon in the final game of the NCAA Baseball Championship's Eugene Regional, Sunday afternoon at PK Park.

Oregon (45-17) jumped out quickly, taking advantage of a leadoff walk followed by a batter hit by a pitch to get two early baserunners. The Ducks moved the runners over with a sacrifice hit before Brett Thomas lined a pitch off starter Kacy Kemmer's leg. Kemmer recovered to throw out Thomas but a run scored. Kemmer would stay in the game, ending the first with a ground out and pitched a scoreless second before leaving the game.

Those two runs were enough for Oregon starter Jake Reed (7-4) who held Austin Peay to two hits and four walks through seven scoreless innings while striking out eight en route to the win. The Govs were only able to place one runner in scoring position against the Ducks starter, that coming when Reed Harper singled with one out in the second and advanced to third on an throwing error by Reed. The Govs could not capitalize with a strikeout and flyout ending the threat.

Oregon tacked on two runs in the third, three runs in the fourth and two more runs in the seventh to put the game out of reach. Brett Hambright had the game's lone home run – a two-run shot in the seventh inning.

Austin Peay (40-24) broke up the shutout bid in the ninth. Greg Bachman opened the inning with a leadoff double – the 276th and final hit of his career – and scored when the Oregon defense committed an error on pinch-hitter Dylan Riner's ground ball.

Kemmer (2-1) was tagged for the loss after allowing one run in his two innings of work.

Bachman led the Govs with a 2-for-3 performance at the plate. Harper was 1-for-3 and had the team's only other hit.

Thomas finished the day 2-for-4 with three RBI to pace the Oregon offensive effort.

Following the contest Bachman, Jordan Hankins and Casey Delgado were each named the the Eugene All-Region team by the media covering the tournament.

C Brett Hambright, Oregon
1B Ryon Healy, Oregon
2B Jordan Hankins, Austin Peay
SS Anthony Trajano, Cal State Fullerton
3B Ryan Hambright, Oregon
OF Aaron Jones, Oregon
OF Kyle Burnam, Indiana State
OF Brett Thomas, Oregon
UT Greg Bachman, Austin Peay
P Casey Delgado, Austin Peay
P Jake Reed, Oregon
MVP Ryan Hambright, Oregon