Skip Navigation

Employees of the Year announced

October 2, 2001

During Friday's Annual Service Awards Program, three Austin Peay staff members were named "Employees of the Year" for 2000-2001.

Award-recipients are Brenda Fuemmeler, technical clerk in the Purchasing Office; Charles Mosley, shipping and receiving clerk for the physical plant; and Sharon Silva, scholarship manager and development officer in the Office of University Advancement.

They were chosen from among the "Outstanding Employees of the Quarter" in three categories-clerical, support and professional.

Fuemmeler, who has been employed at APSU since 1997, works hard to provide purchasing services to faculty, staff and administrators, according to her supervisor and director of purchasing, Nathan Segel. In his nomination, Segel wrote: "In addition to her clerical responsibilities, (Brenda) assumed responsibility for all basic buying activities, placing orders up to $5,000, (and she) keeps the paper flow moving." Segel indicated he has received many e-mails commending Fuemmeler's helpfulness and responsiveness.

Mosley, who has worked at APSU since 1988, took the award in the support category. His nomination said that Mosley "is always here" and, even when on vacation, he has reported to work after learning that another person in his department was sick and unable to work. Mosley's nomination said: "Charles is a dedicated worker who always has a smile, even when UPS drops 314 packages for him to log."

Once a student-worker in the Development Office (now University Advancement), Silva was hired in 1984 as a full-time employee. Her supervisor and the executive director of the office, Roy Gregory commended Silva's exceptional skills in interacting with donors, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of APSU. In his nomination, Gregory wrote: "Sharon is an outstanding worker who loves Austin Peay. She has the ability and knowledge to get things done. She is a pleasure to work with, and Austin Peay is fortunate to have her."

In addition to the recipients of the "Outstanding Employee of the Year" awards, others recognized during the program included "Employees of the Quarter," non-faculty employees who have passed a five-year milestone of University service and those who have retired recently.