Skip Navigation

Chancellor enlarges presidential finalists pool at MTSU; McPhee still in

April 30, 2001

With the top three finalists for president of MTSU running neck-and-neck with the remaining two, Chancellor Charles Manning announced that all five candidates would stay in the running.

Richard Davenport, provost and senior vice president for academic and student affairs at Central Michigan University, and David Wilson, associate provost and vice president for university outreach at Auburn received nine votes each.

Barbara Haske and Duane Stucky, both vice presidents at MTSU, and Sidney McPhee, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs with TBR, got eight votes each. Stucky was a finalist for the APSU presidency when Oscar Page was appointed.

The search committee was preparing to hold a tie-breaking vote when Manning decided to stop the vote. "It's not appropriate for this small a group to make choices when the votes are so close," he said.

Each candidate will visit the campus by May 8.