Skip Navigation

APSU SGA senator receives Carlisle Award


James R. Demoss, a senior at Austin Peay State University, was awarded the prestigious Carlisle Award at the Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature (TISL) held Nov. 17-20 in Nashville.

He was one of only seven students throughout the state awarded for excellence in debating legislation.

Demoss was one of eight APSU students who attended the conference at the Tennessee State Capitol Building. As a senator in APSU’s Student Government Association, he represented SGA at the conference.

The Carlisle Award, named in honor of TISL’s founder, Dr. Douglas Carlisle, is the oldest and most prestigious award for individuals who attended TISL annually. - Dr. Melony Shemberger