Skip Navigation

APSU leadership honor society recognized as one of the nation's top chapters


         CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – The Austin Peay State University Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership  Honor Society was recently named the recipient of the ODK Superior Circle Award at the society’s national convention in Charlotte, N.C.

            This marks the fourth consecutive year that the APSU circle has been recognized for continued leadership within the society. From 1998-2011, APSU was named one of a few “Distinguished Circles” for its leadership, service to APSU and adherence to all national policies and procedures.

            With its recognition as a “Superior Circle,” the chapter has distinguished itself as one of the “best” among 320 collegiate circles located across North America. Only 18 chapters nationally were recognized by this outstanding honor.

            “We’re very excited to be considered one of ‘the best’ circles nationally,” Gregory Singleton, APSU associate vice president and dean of students, said. “This continues to be a testament to the outstanding student leadership at APSU.”

            This award marks the first time since the circle was founded in 1979 that the APSU chapter has received a “Superior Circle” designation. The national leadership honor society recognizes and encourages achievement in scholarship, athletics, campus or community service, social and religious activities, campus government, journalism, speech, mass media and the creative and performing arts.

            For more information, contact APSU Student Affairs at 221-7341.



Photo cutline: Aubrey Harris, circle vice president, and R.J. Taylor, circle president, receive the ODK Superior Circle Award at the society’s national convention.