Skip Navigation

APSU employees share plaudits about scholarly contributions


Faculty and staff members at Austin Peay State University recently announced a number of publications, conferences and credentials as part of their professional and scholarly activities.

Dr. Frank Parcells, professor of communication, Kathy Lee Heuston, associate professor of communication, and Dr. Rob Baron, assistant professor of communication, presented a panel at the 2013 Broadcast Education Association Convention held in early April in Las Vegas, Nev. Parcells moderated a program, “Local TV Stations Marketing Through the Social Media.” Parcells introduced the subject, Baron looked at the use of Facebook and Twitter by local TV stations, and Heuston focused on local TV stations’ lack of use of YouTube to reach the non-TV local news-watching demographic of 18- to 34-year-olds. Journal Broadcast Group Corporate Vice President Jim Thomas, owner of Nashville's News Channel 5, WTVF-TV, summarized the presentation with examples of what their stations are doing with the social media.

Claudia Rodriguez, TECTA director, and Lisa Maddox-Vinson, TECTA specialist, presented at the 2013 Tennessee Family Child Care Alliance (TFCCA) State Conference held April 5-6 in Nashville. Maddox-Vinson also attended the Pyramid Model Leadership Institute presented by Team Tennessee, April 10.

Dr. Melony Shemberger, assistant director of communication in the Office of Public Relations and Marketing and adjunct faculty member in the APSU Department of Communication, had a paper accepted for presentation at the 2013 Visual Communication Conference, to be held June 26-30 in Steamboat Springs, Colo. The title of her paper is “The verdict: How newspapers are using video to expand local courtroom coverage.”

Philip Voorhees, adaptive technology coordinator in the Office of Disability Services, was awarded the 2013 Dona Sparger Professional Service Award on April 18 during the annual Tennessee Association on Higher Education and Disability (TN-AHEAD) Conference held at Tennessee Tech University.  This is the highest honor awarded to a disability service provider and honors a postsecondary service provider who demonstrates exemplary professional service to the disability services field through education, advocacy and service. Voorhees, who is president of TN-AHEAD, was specifically honored for his outstanding efforts across the state and country regarding assistive technology and general access for persons with disabilities.