Skip Navigation

Admissions counselor receives military award

February 4, 2002

Education is one of the top reasons soldiers enlist in the military, but frequent reassignments can make it difficult to earn a degree. Through the Army's concurrent admissions program (ConAP), however, new recruits can enroll in a university of their choice and transfer credits back to that university as they take classes at different schools throughout their career.

During fiscal year 2001, 104 soldiers enrolled at Austin Peay State University under ConAP, more than any other school in Tennessee and Kentucky.

Telaina Wrigley, an admissions counselor at APSU, received the ConAP Award from the Nashville Recruiting Battalion for processing these enrollments. Battalion Commander Lt. Col. Claudia Wigglesworth presented the award on Thursday, Jan. 31, at the Army Education Center, Fort Campbell, Ky.

"We are honored to receive this award and proud to be part of such a worthwhile program that encourages our soldiers to continue their higher education," said Charles McCorkle, director of admissions at Austin Peay. "Telaina does a great job of coordinating these efforts with ConAP and serving our active duty student population."

Austin Peay administers ConAP as a member of Servicemember Opportunity Colleges (SOC), a group of more than 400 universities around the world providing soldiers a college education that accommodates their military lifestyle. This includes easing transfer of course credits, flexible academic residency requirements and awarding credit for military training.

"Giving soldiers the opportunity to earn a college degree through ConAP and SOC is a tool we use to instill in them the philosophy that education is important," said 1st Lt. John Mayers, active duty education support specialist at the Nashville Recruiting Battalion. "Knowing none of their credits will be lost in between duty stations gives them the incentive to pursue a college education and then rewards them when they complete it at their chosen school."

There are 64 universities participating in SOC throughout Tennessee and Kentucky. In addition to Austin Peay, they include the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, University of Tennessee-Martin, Middle Tennessee State University, Murray State University and Eastern and Western Kentucky universities.