APSU Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts rebrands advisory board
Go back

APSU Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts rebrands advisory board

CECA logo

Clarksville, Tenn. - The Acuff Circle of Excellence has rebranded and refined its mission to better align with the organization with which it supports—Austin Peay State University’s Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts (CECA, or "seek-ah"). Earlier this fall, the Acuff Circle of Excellence became the CECA Advisory Board.

“CECA is so fortunate to have the support of a dynamic volunteer board made up of skilled artists and strong arts allies,” Dr. Janice Crews, CECA director, said. “Changing the name of the board from the Acuff Circle of Excellence to the CECA Advisory Board eliminates any confusion about the role of the board and its mission to support the efforts of CECA. It's the same great people, just a new name and a heightened focus.”

With the name change, members of the CECA Advisory Board worked to refine the mission of the Board to align with its new focus. The new mission of the CECA Advisory Board is to support CECA by:

Since Crews arrived in January 2017, CECA has been undergoing changes that include revamping the website, adding new staff members, assuming the leadership of the Community School of the Arts at APSU, establishing a membership society and community arts alliance, and designing a new CECA logo. The new logo features four colored rings that represent each of the four arts areas at APSU.

“As our new name suggests, this Board has refined its commitment to advising and supporting Dr. Crews and her work to elevate the creative arts at APSU and across the community,” Michelle Dickerson, CECA Advisory Board President, said. “Dr. Crews is doing an exceptional job leading CECA, and we endeavor to enhance the work already happening.”

The next big event for the CECA Advisory Board is the Ovation Awards. The Ovation Awards recognize an individual or group's dedication to building and sustaining arts and culture in Montgomery County through active participation in the arts and/or support of the arts.

This year’s Ovation awards will be at 2 p.m. on Sunday, April 8, 2018, in the George and Sharon Mabry Concert Hall on the APSU campus. More information will be released to the community soon on the nomination process for the 2018 Ovation Awards.

For more information or to get involved, visit www.apsu.edu/ceca/ or follow CECA on Facebook @apsuceca.

Current CECA Advisory Board:

Michelle Dickerson, President

Jim Mann, Vice President

Anthony Johnson, Secretary/Treasurer

Dee Boaz

Janice Crews (ex officio)

Jacqueline Crouch

Vic Daniel

Pastor Gary Ellis

Solie Fott

Gary Hamm

Andrea Herrera

Geoff Livingston

Katy Olita

Beverly Parker

Ken Shipley

Nancy Sneed

Vonda St. Amant (ex officio)

Jerica Swiger (ex officio)

Dixie Webb (ex officio)

Kimberly Wiggins

Marydith Young