Skip Navigation

2 graduating seniors take top student honors

Two outstanding seniors, who will graduate May 4, 2007, from Austin Peay State University, received the top student awards during the annual Honors and Awards Ceremony on April 23 in the Music/Mass Communication Building Concert Hall.

The William McClure Drane Award for 2007 was presented to Daniel Mayo, Clarksville, and the 2007 Harvill-Civitan Citizenship Award to Rachel Castleberry, Cumberland Furnace.

The Drane Award goes to the most outstanding member of the graduating class, as determined by faculty vote. The selection is based on character, scholarship, leadership and service to APSU. The Harvill-Civitan Citizenship Award, also chosen by faculty, is based on a record of outstanding contributions to good citizenship during the recipient's college career.

A mathematics major and a member of the Galois Math Club, Mayo has served four years on the Clarksville Academy's Drug and Alcohol Prevention Committee and two years as a foster home provider for the Clarksville Humane Society.

A recipient of the Ken and Amy Landrum Scholarship and the Jack Hunt Memorial Scholarship for Mathematics, Mayo is a four-year Dean's List scholar and a member of Pi Mu Epsilon honorary fraternity. Throughout his college career, Mayo has been a private and group tutor and a part-time teacher at Clarksville Academy.

With a triple major in chemistry, physics and mathematics, Castleberry has been named to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges and received the American Chemical Society Undergraduate Analytical Chemistry Award.

She is a member of Sigma Pi Sigma physics honor society, Pi Mu Epsilon mathematics honor society and Gamma Beta Phi National Honor Society. She also belongs to Del Square Psi (physics and astronomy club), Society of Physics Students and American Physical Society, and she serves as secretary of Chi Epsilon Mu (chemistry club).

Besides serving as a tutor at APSU and conducting a DSP Math Workshop, Castleberry has volunteered with the Middle Tennessee Science and Engineering Fair, Kids ‘N Chemistry outreach events and High School Research Day. She has made many scholarly presentations, both on campus and at national scientific meetings.

Other nominees for the Drane Award were Shauna Haskin, Kelly Shelton Parker, Megan Lathrop, Chiu-fu Sheng and William Talkington. Also nominated for the Harvill-Civitan Award was Jessica Bustard.

For more information, contact Dr. Carrie Brennan, associate professor of chemistry and chair of the Honors and Awards Committee, by telephone at (931) 221-7623 or e-mail at -- Dennie B. Burke