Skip Navigation

13 faculty receive tenure; education professor retires

May 13, 2002

During the May 7 Spring Faculty Meeting at Austin Peay State University, 13 faculty members were granted tenure and a longtime APSU professor of education announced her retirement.

Newly tenured faculty members and their departments are:

Dr. Miguel Ruiz Aviles, associate professor, languages and literature
Dr. James Prescott, assistant professor and chair, public management
Dr. Joseph Schiller, assistant professor, biological science
Dr. Jill Franks, assistant professor, languages and literature
Patrick Perdew, assistant professor, developmental studies program
Gerald Beavers, executive director, APSU Center@ Fort Campbell
Doris Davenport, associate professor, nursing
Scott Boyd, associate professor, communication and theatre
Dr. Jack Deibert, assistant professor, geology and geography
Dr. Jaime Taylor, associate professor and chair, physics
Glenda Thompson, assistant professor, nursing
Faye Zeigler, associate professor, nursing
Joyce Hargrove, assistant professor, social work

Dr. Camille Buck Holt, professor of education, will retire May 10. Holt joined the faculty in 1975. She earned a doctorate in education from the University of Memphis. Her bachelor's (1967) and master's (1971) degrees are from APSU.

While continuing to work in the classroom, she accepted several administrative appointments during her years at APSU. She served as special assistant to the president, assistant vice president for development, interim graduate dean and elementary education coordinator.

"I could never tear myself away from working with pre-service and in-service teachers, regardless of the opportunities I had to work as an administrator," she said. "Without fail, I always gravitated back to the classroom."

Indicative of her hesitancy to retire completely from teaching, Holt, who is now a Nashville resident, will teach at least one year at Peabody College, Vanderbilt University.