Skip Navigation

Music Scholarships

Music majors must apply for these scholarships online. Please follow this instructions given at the online scholarship application portal.

Eligible students will be considered by the music faculty and the successful recipients will be announced at the music department's Honors and Awards Ceremony in April.  

The Presser Scholarship

Given to an outstanding music major at, or after, the end of his or her junior year. The student is to be designated a “Presser Scholar.” The award is a prestigious one, recognizing excellence. The scholarship is awarded for one year only and is not renewable.

The Thomas Cowan Endowed Music Scholarship

Established by Mary Louise Cowan in memory of her husband, former chair of the music department, and is awarded to a deserving music student.

The LaRue V. Pryor Music Scholarship

Given to a qualified graduate from Clarksville High School who plans to major in Choral Music and/or Music Education. The student must be full-time at Austin Peay and the scholarship is renewable for up to five years provided a minimum of 3.0 cumulative GPA is maintained.

The Mabry Music Scholarship

Established by Drs. George and Sharon Mabry to be awarded to a vocal music major. The scholarship is renewable provided acceptable standards are maintained.

The Monday Evening Music Club Scholarship

Awarded to a piano major who makes the most significant contribution to the department and demonstrates notable improvement in musical development and performance.

The Meise Orchestral String Scholarship

Established in 2004 by Mr. Michael Meise in honor of his father. This scholarship is presented to an outstanding string player, with preference given to students who play orchestral string instruments.

The Freeman/Meise Music Scholarship

Established in 1988 by Perkins and Ruth Freeman in honor of their daughter and son-in-law, Cindy and Michael Meise, who are both APSU alumni. It is awarded on an annual basis to a music major and is subject to renewal provided successful progress toward completion of a degree is maintained.

The Sarah Kershner Lisenbee Music Scholarship

Given by Mr. William Kershner and his sisters, Mrs. Sarah Jane Grant and Mrs. Molly Cook, in memory of their mother. This one-year scholarship provides support to promising music majors, with preference given to piano students. Preference is also given to students from Montgomery, Stewart or Houston counties, but the award is not limited to residents of those counties.

The Aaron Schmidt Scholarship

Endowed in 2005, was created in honor of longtime university Director of Bands Dr. Aaron Schmidt. It is presented to an outstanding instrumentalist, either majoring or minoring in music, who agrees to participate in the university’s band program.

The Ann Silverberg Outstanding Service Award

Awarded to students who exhibit outstanding service to the music department above and beyond the call of duty.

The Solie I. Fott Music Scholarship

Given in honor of Dr. Solie I. Fott, professor emeritus, long-time chair of the Department of Music, Director of the Orchestra and teacher of upper-strings. His family contributes this scholarship each year as a merit award to a violin or viola student, preferably an undergraduate.

The Benjamin Troxler Music Scholarship

Awarded to a promising student, preferably a composition major.

The Joey Ansbury Scholarship

For students preferably from Montgomery County. Ansbury Scholarships are renewable but must be re-applied for each year. The student must have least a 3.0 GPA and 23 ACT.

The Marlon and Linda Crow Music Scholarship

This endowment was established in 2014 by Dr. Marla Troughton and Shawn Troughton in honor Dr. Troughton’s parents Marlon and Linda Crow.  The recipient must be a music major and have an overall GPA of 3.5. 

The Phi Mu Alpha Theta Tau Scholarships

Given to rising junior music majors, one female and one male, who exhibit excellence in their music studies and contribute service to the music department.