Skip Navigation

Music Education Online Resources

This page contains an inventory of music education websites where you can find resources, lesson plans, and other materials you will need for your music courses, and in your careers as music educators. The inclusion or omission of a weblink is not intended as an endoresement of any of the organizations, associations, or products listed below. While we regularly update this website, we cannot guarantee the functionality or contents of links that are not affiliated with APSU. If you encounter a link that does not function properly, contact Dr. Branscome at branscomee@apsu.edu.


Music Education Standards

Tennessee Standards for K-12 Music (2017 - temporary location)www.tn.gov/sbe/article/Other-Subjects
Tennessee Standards for K - 12 Music (1994)https://tn.gov/education/article/arts-education 
1994 National Standards for Music Educationwww.musicstandfoundation.org/images/National_Standards_-_Music_Education.pdf
DoDEA Standards (for Fort Campbell Schools)www.dodea.edu/Curriculum/music/standards.cfm
Kentucky Music StandardsKentucky adopted the NCCAS Standards (see link below)
NCCAS Core Arts Standards (2014)www.nationalartsstandards.org/

Lesson Planning & Song Collections

K-12 Resources for Music Educatorshttps://sites.google.com/site/k12musicresources/
Kididdles: online children’s song library www.kididdles.com
Elementary Music Lesson Planninghttp://mainlymusic.weebly.com/elementary-music.html
The Teacher’s Guidewww.theteachersguide.com/ChildrensSongs.htm
Preschool Expresswww.preschoolexpress.com/music_station.shtml
Bus Songshttp://bussongs.com/activity-songs.php
Songs for Teachingwww.songsforteaching.com
Max Hunter Song Collection (Missouri State Univ.)https://maxhunter.missouristate.edu/indexsongtitle.aspx
National Institute of Environmental Health Scienceshttp://kids.niehs.nih.gov/games/songs/childrens/index.htm
Singing Games for Childrenwww.singinggamesforchildren.com
Preschool Education.comwww.preschooleducation.com/song.shtml
Free clip-art gallery http://school.discoveryeducation.com/clipart/
Public Domain Children’s Songs www.pdinfo.com/PD-Music-Genres/PD-Children-Songs.php
Choral Public Domain Librarywww.cpdl.org/
Scouting Songswww.scoutsongs.com
International Music Score Library Project http://imslp.org/
Kodály Music Education Institute of Australiawww.kodaly.org.au/
The American Folk Song Collection (Holy Names University)http://kodaly.hnu.edu/
Nursery Rhyme Collections

http://nursery.zelo.com/

www.nursery-rhymes-collection.com/index.html

www.apples4theteacher.com/mother-goose-nursery-rhymes/

www.rhymes.org.uk

  


              

Assessment: Online Worksheets/Formative and Summative Grading Rubrics

RCampus Online Rubric Gallery (Music)www.rcampus.com/rubricshellc.cfm?mode=gallery&sms=publicrub&sid=23&
Music Tech Teacherwww.musictechteacher.com/worksheets.htm
G Major Worksheets www.gmajormusictheory.org/Fundamentals/workbooks.html
TLS Bookswww.tlsbooks.com/musicworksheets.htm
Enchanted Learning www.enchantedlearning.com/music/
Making Music Funhttp://makingmusicfun.net/htm/printit_notename.htm
University of Georgia Music Assessmenthttp://research.franklin.uga.edu/assessment/content/welcome-music-assessment-site

Music Education Suppliers / Retailers

Elementary / General
West musicwww.westmusic.com/
Music K-8  www.musick8.com/
Music in Motion  www.musicmotion.com/
Rhythm Band Instrumentswww.rhythmband.com/
Suzuki Musicwww.suzukimusic.com/
Music is Elementarywww.musiciselementary.com/store/
Sheet Music (purchase & rental)
J.W. Pepper  www.jwpepper.com/sheet-music/welcome.jsp
Pender’s Musicwww.penders.com/
Boosey & Hawkes www.boosey.com/pages/licensing/
Edition Peterswww.edition-peters.com/hire.php
Luck’s Music Library www.lucksmusic.com/
Theodore Presser Cowww.presser.com/Rental/
Schott Music www.schott-music.com/shop/hire_material/orchestra/
Arrangers Publishing Co.www.arrpubco.com/
Hal Leonard Marching Catalog   www.halleonard.com/
Instruments and Supplies
Woodwind & Brasswindwww.wwbw.com/
Interstate Musicwww.interstatemusic.com
Fork’s Drum Closetwww.forksdrumcloset.com
Steve Weiss Musicwww.steveweiss.com
Lone Star Percussionwww.lonestar.com
BandShoppewww.bandshoppe.com
American bandwww.americanband.com
Uniforms
Band: Demoulinwww.demoulin.com/
Fruhauf http://fruhauf.com/
Fred J. Miller http://fjminc.com/
Stanbury www.stanbury.com
BandShoppe (Guard)www.bandshoppe.com
Algy (Guard Uniforms) www.algyteam.com
Choir: Cousin’s Concert Attirewww.concertattire.com/
Formal wear Outletwww.formalwear-outlet.com/
Murphy Robes www.murphyrobes.com/
Stage Accentswww.stageaccents.com/
Miscellaneous
Music Technology: Sweetwaterwww.sweetwater.com/
Wenger Co.www.wengercorp.com/
Manhassetwww.manhasset-specialty.com/

             


                                                   


Resources for Music and Special Needs Learners

Music and Students with Special Needswww.people.vcu.edu/~bhammel/special/
The Full Pitcher Music Resources www.fullpitcher.co.uk/specialneeds.htm
Songs for Teaching (focus on special needs)www.songsforteaching.com/specialneeds.htm
New Zealand Ministry of Education www.tki.org.nz/r/arts/music/specialneeds/

                        


Professional Music Organizations

Visit the Department of Music's Directory of Professional Organizations for website URLs and additional information.