Skip Navigation

Affiliated Faculty

Charles Woods, PhD

Coordinator, Center for the Study of Military Life

Professor, Psychology

Research Interests: The visual, oculo-motor, and vestibular symptoms associated with mild TBI. Currently collaborating with the Blanchfield Army Community Hospital, Warrior Resiliency and Recovery Center, TBI program.

woodsc@apsu.edu

Tucker Brown, PhD

Associate Professor, Sociology

Research Interests:  Military Families, Military Members as Non-Traditional Learners, Social Capital in the Military Context

brownt@apsu.edu

Shunda Brown, PhD

Assistant Professor, Psychology

Research interests: The effects of wartime deployment on military families, the impact of sexual orientation (GLBTQ) on military life, and  cultural competency in military counseling.”

brownsl@apsu.edu

Jonniann Butterfield, PhD

Assistant Professor, Sociology

Research Interests:  Gender dynamics and sexuality in the military context, impacts of the repeal of Don't Ask, Don't Tell. 

butterfieldj@apsu.edu

Roxanne  Gerbrandt, PhD

Assistant Professor, Sociology

Research Interests:  Gender dynamics and sexuality in the military context, impacts of the repeal of Don't Ask, Don't Tell. 

gerbrandtr@apsu.edu

LTC Robert Gordon

Chair, Department of Military Science

18 Years of Service, 12 at Ft. Campbell 101st Airborne Division (Air Assault)

1 Iraq Deployment, 3 Afghanistan Deployments

gordonre@apsu.edu

Kevin Harris, PhD

Assistant Professor, Psychology

Research Interests: Expert performance and deliberative practice in the context of stressful, dynamic, and potentially life-threatening situations such as the military, law enforcement, and healthcare.

harrisk@apsu.edu

Tatsushi Hirono, PhD

Assistant Professor, Social Work

Research Interests: Suicide prevention and spirituality as it relates to military life.

hironot@apsu.edu

Nicole Knickmeyer, PhD

Associate Professor, Psychology

Research Interests: Military issues broadly related to women and gender, intimate partner violence, and experiences of grief and loss..    

knickmeyern@apsu.edu

Marsha Lyle-Gonga, PhD

Assistant Professor, Political Science

Research Interests: Women in politics, voter participation, public policy.

lylegongam@apsu.edu

Stephen Truhon, PhD

Associate Professor, Psychology

Research Interests: Equal opportunity and job analysis in the military.

truhons@apsu.edu

Affiliated Administrators

David Denton, PhD

Dean, College of Behavioral and Health Sciences

Professor, Psychology

dentond@apsu.edu