Skip Navigation
Photo of Collins speaking - Languages and Literature Hands writing on paperwork on a desk Travel photos pinned to a cork board

Graduate Faculty Directory

Members of the graduate faculty have the depth and breadth of preparation and experience to offer students a full and well-balanced curriculum. They hold degrees from universities throughout the United States and include dedicated, published scholars committed to providing expert instruction within small seminar classes. In the creative writing program, resident faculty and renowned guest writers work with our students in intimate classes with a workshop atmosphere.
  

150

Wes Atkinson
Assistant Professor
Email: atkinsonr@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7215
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 103

Ph.D. (Lehigh University)
19th-C American Literature, Early American Literature, Native American Literature

150

Linda Barnes
Professor
Email: barnesla@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7119
Office: Honors Building (Memorial Health)

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
American Literature, Southern Writers.
Coordinator of Honors Program.

150

Beatrix Brockman
Assistant Professor
email: brockmanb@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7847
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 226

Ph.D. German (Vanderbilt)
M.A. English (Austin Peay State University)
German  Literature

150

Mercy Cannon
Associate Professor
Email:  cannonm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7893
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 225

Ph.D. (U. Of Tennessee, Knoxville)
18th Century British Literature

150

Kenneth Cervelli
Assistant Professor 
Email:  cervellik@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7864
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 235

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois)
British Romanticism, Literature and The Environment

150

Linda Davis 
Associate Professor
Email:davisl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7892
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 141

EdD (Tennessee State University)
English Education

150

Osvaldo Di Paolo
Associate Professor
E-mail: dipaoloo@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-2217487
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 216

Ph.D. (University of Kentucky)
19th, 20th, and 21st century Latin American Literature

150

Arthur Eaves
Associate Professor
Email:  eavesa@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7885
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 222

Ph.D. (Notre Dame).
Drama, British Literature

150

Jill Eichhorn
Associate Professor
Email:  eichhornje@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-6314 
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 143

Ph.D. (Miami of Ohio).
American Literature, Women's Studies, Coordinator of Women's Studies.

150

Jill Franks

Professor
Email:  franksj@apsu.edu 
Phone:  931-221-7879
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 131

Ph.D.  
British literature

150

Dwonna Goldstone
Professor
Email:  goldstoned@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7886
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 140

Ph.D. (Texas).
African American and African Literature.

150

David Guest
Associate Professor/Chair
Email:  guestd@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7860
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 116

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
Literary Criticism and Theory, American Literature

150

Katherine Honea
Assistant Professor
E-mail:  honeak@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7117
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 223

Ph.D. (University of Florida)
Spanish (Hispanic Linguistics)

150

Barry Kitterman 
Professor
Email:  kittermanb@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7878
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 219

MFA (Montana) 
Creative Writing, Center of Excellence in Creative Arts Representative.

150

Christophe Konkobo
Assistant Professor
Email:  konkoboc@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7596
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 213

Ph.D. (University of Iowa)
Francophone Literature and Film

No photo available

David Major
Professor
Email:  majord@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7927
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 228

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
Technical Writing

No photo available

Cynthia McWilliams
Associate Professor
Email:  mcwilliamsc@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7874
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 232

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois) 
Composition and Rhetoric, Linguistics, Chair of Freshmen Writing

150

Norbert Puszkar
Associate Professor
Email:  puszkarn@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-6391
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 234

Ph.D. (Southern California)
German Literature and History

150

Jeanie Randall
Associate Professor
Email: randallj@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7212
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 218

Ph.D. (Georgia)
Composition, Medieval Literature

150

Miguel R. Ruiz-Aviles
Professor
Email:  ruizavilesm@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7855
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 104

Ph.D. (Nebraska).
Spanish Literature and History.     
Director of the Hispanic Cultural  Center, Coordinator of the Study Abroad Program Spain.

150

Daniel P. Shea
Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator
Email:  shead@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7895
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 230

Ph.D. University of Oregon 
British Victorian

150

Lynn Sims
Associate Professor
Email:  simsl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7339
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 220

Ph.D. Arizona State University 
History of the English Language

150

Karen D. Sorenson
Professor
Email:  sorensonk@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6246
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 142

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt) 
French Literature and History

150

Andrea Spofford
Assistant Professor
Email: spofforda@apsu.edu
Phone: 221-7869
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 118

Ph.D. (The University of Southern Mississippi)
Creative Writing, Poetry

150

Mickey Wadia
Professor
Email:  wadiam@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7448
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 227

Ph.D. (Southwestern Louisiana) 
Shakespeare, Technical Writing

No photo available

Charla White-Major
Associate Professor
Email:  majorc@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7133
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 212

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
19th Century American Lit. Composition

150

Timothy Winters
Professor
Email:  winterst@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7118
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 212

Ph.D. (Ohio State) 
Classical Languages and Literature

150

Amy Wright
Assistant Professor 
Email: wrighta@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7714
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 215

Ph.D. (Denver).
Creative Writing Non-Fiction