Skip Navigation
Zone 3 Press Hands writing on paperwork on a desk Travel photos pinned to a cork board

Graduate Faculty Directory

Members of the graduate faculty have the depth and breadth of preparation and experience to offer students a full and well-balanced curriculum. They hold degrees from universities throughout the United States and include dedicated, published scholars committed to providing expert instruction within small seminar classes. In the creative writing program, resident faculty and renowned guest writers work with our students in intimate classes with a workshop atmosphere.
  

Wes Atkinson
Assistant Professor
Email: atkinsonr@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7215
Office: Harned Hall, Room 103

Ph.D. (Lehigh University)
19th-C American Literature, Early American Literature, Native American Literature

Mercy Cannon
Associate Professor
Email:  cannonm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7893
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 225

Ph.D. (U. Of Tennessee, Knoxville)
18th Century British Literature

Kenneth Cervelli
Assistant Professor 
Email:  cervellik@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7864
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 235

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois)
British Romanticism, Literature and The Environment

Linda Crenshaw
Professor
Email: barnesla@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7119
Office: Harned Hall, Room 128

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
American Literature, Southern Writers.

Linda Davis 
Associate Professor
Email:davisl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7892
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 141

EdD (Tennessee State University)
English Education

Jill Eichhorn
Associate Professor
Email:  eichhornje@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-6314 
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 143

Ph.D. (Miami of Ohio).
American Literature, Women's Studies, Coordinator of Women's Studies.

Jill Franks

Professor
Email:  franksj@apsu.edu 
Phone:  931-221-7879
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 131

Ph.D.  
British literature

Dwonna Goldstone
Professor
Email:  goldstoned@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7886
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 140

Ph.D. (Texas).
African American and African Literature.

David Guest
Associate Professor/Chair
Email:  guestd@apsu.edu 
Phone:  (931) 221-7860
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 116

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
Literary Criticism and Theory, American Literature

Katherine Honea
Assistant Professor
E-mail:  honeak@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7117
Office: Harned Hall, Room 223

Ph.D. (University of Florida)
Spanish (Hispanic Linguistics)

Barry Kitterman 
Professor
Email:  kittermanb@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7878
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 219

MFA (Montana) 
Creative Writing, Center of Excellence in Creative Arts Representative.

No photo available

David Major
Professor
Email:  majord@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7927
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 228

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
Technical Writing

No photo available

Cynthia McWilliams
Associate Professor
Email:  mcwilliamsc@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7874
Office: Harned Hall, Room 232

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois) 
Composition and Rhetoric, Linguistics, Chair of Freshmen Writing

Daniel P. Shea
Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator
Email:  shead@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7895
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 230

Ph.D. University of Oregon 
British Victorian

Lynn Sims
Associate Professor
Email:  simsl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7339
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 220

Ph.D. Arizona State University 
History of the English Language

Karen D. Sorenson
Professor
Email:  sorensonk@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6246
Office: Harned Hall, Room 142

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt) 
French Literature and History

Andrea Spofford
Assistant Professor
Email: spofforda@apsu.edu
Phone: 221-7869
Office: Harned Hall, Room 118

Ph.D. (The University of Southern Mississippi)
Creative Writing, Poetry

Mickey Wadia
Professor
Email:  wadiam@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7448
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 227

Ph.D. (Southwestern Louisiana) 
Shakespeare, Technical Writing

No photo available

Charla White-Major
Associate Professor
Email:  majorc@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7133
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 212

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
19th Century American Lit. Composition

Timothy Winters
Professor
Email:  winterst@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7118
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 212

Ph.D. (Ohio State) 
Classical Languages and Literature

Amy Wright
Assistant Professor 
Email: wrighta@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7714
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 215

Ph.D. (Denver).
Creative Writing Non-Fiction