Skip Navigation
Zone 3 Press Hands writing on paperwork on a desk Travel photos pinned to a cork board

Faculty

Faculty & Staff Directory 

Members of the faculty have the depth and breadth of preparation and experience to offer students a full, well-balanced curriculum.

 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z  Emeritus

Regular Faculty and Staff

Wes Atkinson
Assistant Professor
Email: atkinsonr@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7215
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 103

Ph.D. (Lehigh University)
19th-C American Literature, Early American Literature, Native American Literature

 

Jonathan Beasley
Instructor
Email: beasleyj@apsu.edu
Office: Claxton, Room 302-C

MA in English, Austin Peay State University

 

Neeta Bhasin
Assistant Professor
email: bhasinn@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7870
Office: Harned Hall, Room 139

Ph.D. (Carnegie Mellon University)
Rhetoric and Composition, Discourse Analysis, Language and Culture, Immigrant Literature

 

Beatrix Brockman
Associate Professor
email: brockmanb@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7847
Office: Harned Hall, Room 236

Ph.D. German (Vanderbilt)
M.A. English (Austin Peay State University)
German  Literature

 

Thomas Call

Assistant Professor
Email: callt@apsu.edu
Office: Harned Hall, Room 206
Phone: 221-7281

Ph.D. (UT Knoxville; 2005)

 

Mercy Cannon
Associate Professor
Email:  cannonm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7893
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 225

Ph.D. (U. Of Tennessee, Knoxville)
18th Century British Literature

 

Kenneth Cervelli
Assistant Professor
Email:  cervellik@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7864
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 235

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois)
British Romanticism, Literature and The Environment

 

Sherry Clark
Instructor
Email: clarkso@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 233-0405
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 139

M.A. in English (Austin Peay State University)

 

Linda Crenshaw
Professor
Email: barnesla@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7119
Office: Harned Hall, Room 128

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
American Literature, Southern Writers.

Linda Davis
Associate Professor
Email:davisl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7892
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 141

EdD (Tennessee State University)
English Education

 

Osvaldo Di Paolo Harrison
Associate Professor
E-mail: dipaoloo@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-2217487
Office: Harned Hall, Room 216

Ph.D. (University of Kentucky)
19th, 20th, and 21st century Latin American Literature

 

No photo available

Stephanie Dugger
Assistant Professor
Email: duggers@apsu.edu
Phone: 221-7643
Office: Memorial Health, Room 112C

Ph.D. (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)

Jill Eichhorn
Associate Professor
Email:  eichhornje@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6314
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 143

Ph.D. (Miami of Ohio).
American Literature, Women's Studies, Coordinator of Women's Studies.

 

Taylor Emery
Master Instructor
Email:  emeryt@apsu.edu
Phone:  931-221-1453
Office:  FC Education Center, APSU FC 117

M.A. (Austin Peay)
Composition, World Literature

 

Jill Franks

Professor
Email:  franksj@apsu.edu
Phone:  931-221-7879
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 131

Ph.D.  (Rutgers University)
British & Irish literature, Film Studies

 

Reggie Forest
Assistant Professor
Email: forestr@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-6041
office: Memorial Health, Room 112D

Ph.D. English
University of New England (Australian Higher Ed) 

 

Dwonna Goldstone
Professor
Email:  goldstoned@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7886
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 140

Ph.D. (Texas).
African American and African Literature.

 

Barbara Lee Gray
Senior Instructor
Email: grayb@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-6239
Office: Claxton, Room 302D

Master of Arts in English (Austin Peay State University)

 

David Guest
Associate Professor/Chair
Email:  guestd@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7860
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 116

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
Literary Criticism and Theory, American Literature

 

Katherine Honea
Assistant Professor
E-mail:  honeak@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7117
Office: Harned Hall, Room 223

Ph.D. (University of Florida)
Spanish (Hispanic Linguistics)

 

Mitsutoshi Inaba

Assistant Professor
E-mail: inabam@apsu.edu
Phone: (931)-221-7885
Office: Harned Hall, Room 222

 Ph.D in Ethnomusicology from University of Oregon (Eugene, Oregon)
African American Studies 

No photo available

Jenifer Jayne Jackson
Senior Instructor - E-Faculty
Email: jacksonjj@apsu.edu

M.A. in English

 

Barry Kitterman
Professor
Email:  kittermanb@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7878
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 219

MFA (Montana)
Creative Writing, Center of Excellence in Creative Arts Representative.

 

Stephen Kershner
Assistant Professor, Classics
Email: kershners@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-6828
Office: Harned Hal, Room 241 

Ph.D. (SUNY Buffalo)
Latin Literature, Roman Social History, Literary History

Christophe Konkobo
Associate Professor
Email:  konkoboc@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7596
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 213

Ph.D. (University of Iowa)
Francophone Literature and Film

 

Pamela Roddy Magrans
Senior Instructor
Email: magransp@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7861
Office: Harned Hall, Room 244

M.A. in English

 

No photo available

David Major
Professor
Email:  majord@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7927
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 228

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
Technical Writing

 

No photo available

Cynthia McWilliams
Associate Professor
Email:  mcwilliamsc@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7874
Office: Harned Hall, Room 232

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois)
Composition and Rhetoric, Linguistics, Chair of Freshmen Writing

 

Norbert Puszkar
Professor
Email:  puszkarn@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6391
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 218

Ph.D. (Southern California)
German Literature and History

 

Miguel R. Ruiz-Aviles
Professor
Email:  ruizavilesm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7855
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 104

Ph.D. (Nebraska).
Spanish Literature and History.    
Director of the Hispanic Cultural  Center, Coordinator of the Study Abroad Program Spain.

 

Steven Ryan
Professor
Email:  ryans@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7871
Office: Harned Hall, Room 221

Ph.D. (Utah).
Fiction, American Literature, Southern Writers.

 

Laura Schultz
Spanish Instructor
Email:  schultzl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7594
Office: Harned Hall, Room 105

M.A. (University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee)
Spanish, Spanish-English Translation

 

Daniel P. Shea
Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator
Email:  shead@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7895
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 230

Ph.D. University of Oregon
British Victorian

 

Marisa Sikes
Assistant Professor
Email:  sikesm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7212
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 234

Ph.D. University of New Mexico
British Medieval

 

Lynn Sims
Associate Professor
Email:  simsl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7339
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 220

Ph.D. Arizona State University
History of the English Language

 

Karen D. Sorenson
Professor
Email:  sorensonk@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6246
Office: Harned Hall, Room 142

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
French Literature and History

 

Andrea Spofford
Associate Professor
Email: spofforda@apsu.edu
Phone: 221-7869
Office: Harned Hall, Room 118

Ph.D. (The University of Southern Mississippi)
Creative Writing, Poetry

 

No photo available

Lynda Stephenson
Assistant Professor- E-Faculty
Email: stephensonl@apsu.edu

MFA University of New Orleans/Creative Writing
MA Texas Tech University
American Literature/Communications

Mickey Wadia
Professor
Email:  wadiam@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7448
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 227

Ph.D. (Southwestern Louisiana)
Shakespeare, Technical Writing

 

Jane Wessel
Assistant Professor
Email: wesselj@apsu.edu
Phone: 221-7283
Office: Harned Hall, Room 204

Ph.D. (University of Delaware)
British Drama

No photo available

Charla White-Major
Associate Professor
Email:  majorc@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7133
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 212

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
19th Century American Lit. Composition

 

Mary E. Winters
Senior Instructor
Email:    wintersm@apsu.edu
Office:  Harned Hall, Room 241
Phone: (931) 221-6828

Master of Arts from Ohio State University

 

Timothy Winters
Professor
Email:  winterst@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7118
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 212

Ph.D. (Ohio State)
Classical Languages and Literature

 

Amy Wright
Associate Professor
Email: wrighta@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7714
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 215

Ph.D. (Denver).
Creative Writing Non-Fiction

 

Emeritus Faculty

Thayer W. Beach, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1968-1991).

Albert Bekus, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1970-2004).

Eleanor Beiswenger, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1977-1994).

James Clemmer, M.A.  Professor of English (1967-2004).

Don W. Der, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1970-1991).

Malcolm S. Glass, M.A.  Professor of English (1962-1999).

Nancy Hancock, D.A.  Professor of English (1988-2004).

Charles C. Holt, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1967-1991).

Edward Eugene Irwin, Professor of English (1962-1998).

Lewis C. Tatham, Jr., Ph.D.  Professor of English (1966-1995).

David Till, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1971-2004).

John Turner, M.A. Assistant Professor of English (1967-2000).

Charles M. Waters, M.A. Professor of English (1948-1985)

Allene Phy-Olsen, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1990-2007).                                 

 Ramon Magrans, Ph.D  Professor of Spanish (1982-2009).