Skip Navigation
Photo of Collins speaking - Languages and Literature Hands writing on paperwork on a desk Travel photos pinned to a cork board

Faculty

Faculty & Staff Directory 

Members of the faculty have the depth and breadth of preparation and experience to offer students a full, well-balanced curriculum.

 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z  Emeritus

Regular Faculty and Staff

150

Wes Atkinson
Assistant Professor
Email: atkinsonr@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7215
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 103

Ph.D. (Lehigh University)
19th-C American Literature, Early American Literature, Native American Literature

150

Linda Barnes
Professor
Email: barnesla@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7119
Office: Honors Building (Memorial Health)

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
American Literature, Southern Writers.
Coordinator of Honors Program.

150

Jonathan Beasley

Office: Claxton, Rm 302-C
Email: beasleyj@apsu.edu

MA in English, Austin Peay State University

No photo available

Neeta Bhasin
Assistant Professor
email: bhasinn@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7870
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 139

Ph.D. (Carnegie Mellon University)
Rhetoric and Composition, Discourse Analysis, Language and Culture, Immigrant Literature

150

Beatrix Brockman
Assistant Professor
email: brockmanb@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7847
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 236

Ph.D. German (Vanderbilt)
M.A. English (Austin Peay State University)
German  Literature

150

Thomas Call
Email: callt@apsu.edu
Office: Harned Hall 206
Phone: 221-7281

Ph.D. (UT Knoxville; 2005)

150

Mercy Cannon
Associate Professor
Email:  cannonm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7893
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 225

Ph.D. (U. Of Tennessee, Knoxville)
18th Century British Literature

150

Kenneth Cervelli
Assistant Professor
Email:  cervellik@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7864
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 235

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois)
British Romanticism, Literature and The Environment

150

Sherry Clark
Administrative Assistant II
Email: clarks@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7890
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 115, Languages and Literature Department

M.A. in English (Austin Peay State University)

150

Linda Davis
Associate Professor
Email:davisl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7892
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 141

EdD (Tennessee State University)
English Education

150

Osvaldo Di Paolo
Associate Professor
E-mail: dipaoloo@apsu.edu
Phone: 931-2217487
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 216

Ph.D. (University of Kentucky)
19th, 20th, and 21st century Latin American Literature

150

Arthur Eaves
Associate Professor
Email:  eavesa@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7885
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 222

Ph.D. (Notre Dame).
Drama, British Literature

150

Jill Eichhorn
Associate Professor
Email:  eichhornje@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6314
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 143

Ph.D. (Miami of Ohio).
American Literature, Women's Studies, Coordinator of Women's Studies.

150

Taylor Emery
Instructor
Email:  emeryt@apsu.edu
Phone:  931-221-1453
Office:  FC Education Center APSUFC 117

M.A. (Austin Peay).
Composition, World Literature

150

Lydia Fleming
Email: flemingl@apsu.edu

Office: Claxton, Rm 302A

MA English

150

Jill Franks

Professor
Email:  franksj@apsu.edu
Phone:  931-221-7879
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 131

Ph.D. 
British literature

150

Reggie Forest
Instructor
Email: forestr@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-6041
office: Memorial Health, RM 112D

Ph.D. (Rutgers).
Modern British Literature, Modern Irish Literature

150

Dwonna Goldstone
Professor
Email:  goldstoned@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7886
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 140

Ph.D. (Texas).
African American and African Literature.

150

Barbara Lee Gray
Email: grayb@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-6239
Office: Harned Hall 241

Master of Arts in English (Austin Peay State University)

150

David Guest
Associate Professor/Chair
Email:  guestd@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7860
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 116

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
Literary Criticism and Theory, American Literature

 

150

Katherine Honea
Assistant Professor
E-mail:  honeak@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7117
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 223

Ph.D. (University of Florida)
Spanish (Hispanic Linguistics)

No photo available

Jenifer Jayne Jackson
Instructor
Email: jacksonjj@apsu.edu

M.A. in English

 

 

150

Barry Kitterman
Professor
Email:  kittermanb@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7878
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 219

MFA (Montana)
Creative Writing, Center of Excellence in Creative Arts Representative.

150

Christophe Konkobo
Assistant Professor
Email:  konkoboc@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7596
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 213

Ph.D. (University of Iowa)
Francophone Literature and Film

150

Pamela Roddy Magrans
Instructor
Email: magransp@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7861
Office: Harned 244

M.A. in English

No photo available

David Major
Professor
Email:  majord@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7927
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 228

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
Technical Writing

No photo available

Wanda McNabb
Administrative Assistant II
Email:  mcnabbw@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7891
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 11, Languages and Literature Department

MA English

No photo available

Cynthia McWilliams
Associate Professor
Email:  mcwilliamsc@apsu.edu
Phone: (931) 221-7874
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 232

Ph.D. (Southern Illinois)
Composition and Rhetoric, Linguistics, Chair of Freshmen Writing

150

Robin L. Moss
Instructor
Email: mossr@apsu.edu
Office: Claxton 302B

M.A. in English and Master of Divinity

150

Norbert Puszkar
Professor
Email:  puszkarn@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6391
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 218

Ph.D. (Southern California)
German Literature and History

150

Jeanie Randall
Associate Professor
Email: randallj@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7212
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 218

Ph.D. (Georgia)
Composition, Medieval Literature

150

Miguel R. Ruiz-Aviles
Professor
Email:  ruizavilesm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7855
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 104

Ph.D. (Nebraska).
Spanish Literature and History.    
Director of the Hispanic Cultural  Center, Coordinator of the Study Abroad Program Spain.

150

Steven Ryan
Professor
Email:  ryans@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7871
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 221

Ph.D. (Utah).
Fiction, American Literature, Southern Writers.

No photo available

Laura Schultz
Spanish Instructor
Email:  schultzl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7594
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 105

M.A. (University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee)
Spanish, Spanish-English Translation

150

Daniel P. Shea
Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator
Email:  shead@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7895
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 230

Ph.D. University of Oregon
British Victorian

No photo available

Marisa Sikes
Assistant Professor
Email:  sikesm@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7212
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 234

Ph.D. University of New Mexico
British Medieval

150

Lynn Sims
Associate Professor
Email:  simsl@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7339
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 220

Ph.D. Arizona State University
History of the English Language

150

Karen D. Sorenson
Professor
Email:  sorensonk@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-6246
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 142

Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
French Literature and History

150

Andrea Spofford
Assistant Professor
Email: spofforda@apsu.edu
Phone: 221-7869
Office: Harned Hall, Rm 118

Ph.D. (The University of Southern Mississippi)
Creative Writing, Poetry

150

Mickey Wadia
Professor
Email:  wadiam@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7448
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 227

Ph.D. (Southwestern Louisiana)
Shakespeare, Technical Writing

150

Eloise Weatherspoon
Instructor
Email:  weatherspoone@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7594
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 105

M.A. (Austin Peay).
Composition and World Literature.

No photo available

Charla White-Major
Associate Professor
Email:  majorc@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7133
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 212

Ph.D. (Oklahoma State University)
19th Century American Lit. Composition

150

Mary E. Winters

Email:    wintersm@apsu.edu
Office:  Harned Hall 204
Phone: (931) 221-6828

Master of Arts from Ohio State University

150

Timothy Winters
Professor
Email:  winterst@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7118
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 212

Ph.D. (Ohio State)
Classical Languages and Literature

150

Amy Wright
Assistant Professor
Email: wrighta@apsu.edu
Phone:  (931) 221-7714
Office:  Harned Hall, Rm 215

Ph.D. (Denver).
Creative Writing Non-Fiction

Emeritus Faculty

Thayer W. Beach, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1968-1991).

Albert Bekus, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1970-2004).

Eleanor Beiswenger, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1977-1994).

James Clemmer, M.A.  Professor of English (1967-2004).

Don W. Der, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1970-1991).

Malcolm S. Glass, M.A.  Professor of English (1962-1999).

Nancy Hancock, D.A.  Professor of English (1988-2004).

Charles C. Holt, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1967-1991).

Edward Eugene Irwin, Professor of English (1962-1998).

Lewis C. Tatham, Jr., Ph.D.  Professor of English (1966-1995).

David Till, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1971-2004).

John Turner, M.A. Assistant Professor of English (1967-2000).

Charles M. Waters, M.A. Professor of English (1948-1985)

Allene Phy-Olsen, Ph.D.  Professor of English (1990-2007).                                 

 Ramon Magrans, Ph.D  Professor of Spanish (1982-2009).