Skip Navigation

President Timothy L. Hall

On May 18, 2007, the Tennessee Board of Regents named Timothy L. Hall the new president of Austin Peay State University.

Hall assumed duties as president on Aug. 1, 2007.

Since 2002, Hall was associate provost and associate vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Mississippi, Oxford.  He was director of the University Studies 101 Program there from 1996-2003 and has been a professor of law at the university since 1989.

In 1983, Hall earned his juris doctorate with honors from the University of Texas School of Law, where he was named to the Order of the Coif and editor of the Texas Law Review. He graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in philosophy from the University of Houston in 1978.



Past Presidents of Austin Peay

John S. Ziegler, 1929-1930
Philander P. Claxton, 1930-1946
Halbert Harvill, 1946-1962
Earl E. Sexton (Acting), September - December 1962
Joe Morgan, 1963-1976
Robert O. Riggs, 1976-1987
Oscar C. Page, 1988-1994
Richard G. Rhoda (Interim), July - October 1994
Sal D. Rinella, 1994-2000
Sherry L. Hoppe (Interim), 2000-2001
Sherry L. Hoppe, 2001-2007