Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff

Jump to: Full Time Faculty, Emeritus Faculty, Adjunct Faculty, Staff

Full Time Faculty

Name

Contact InformationFields
John W. Steinberg
Professor, Chair
Harned Hall 340
(931) 221-7924
steinbergj@apsu.edu
Russia, Eastern Europe, Military, Holocaust
Michele Butts
Professor
Harned Hall 326
(931) 221-7947
buttsmt@apsu.edu 
American Indian, American West, Latin America
C. Wallace Cross
Professor
Harned Hall 325
(931) 221-7931
crossw@apsu.edu
England, British Empire, U.S.
Christos Frentzos
Associate Professor 
Harned Hall 314
(931) 221-7945

frentzosc@apsu.edu
Diplomatic Military History
Gregory Hammond
Associate Professor
Harned Hall 306
(931) 221-7865

hammondg@apsu.edu
Latin American History, Women & Gender Studies
 Kelly E. Jones

Assistant Professor

Harned Hall 304
(931) 221-7932

jonesk@apsu.edu
 African American History and Slavery
Mark Michael
Professor
Harned Hall 337
(931) 221-1003

michaelm@apsu.edu
Business ethics, history and theory of ethics, social and political philosophy,modern philosophy
George Pesely 
Professor
Harned Hall 316
(931) 221-7937

peselyg@apsu.edu
Ancient Greence, Ancient Rome, Early Middle Ages
Albert Randall
Professor
Harned Hall 337
(931) 221-7479

randalla@apsu.edu
Logic, ancient and medeival philosophy, religion, phenomenology-existentialism
David Rands
Associate Professor
Harned Hall 304
(931) 221-7936

randsd@apsu.edu
Japanese and World
Kristofer Ray
Associate Professor
Senior Editor,
Tennessee Historical Quarterly
Harned Hall 324
(931) 221-7916
rayk@apsu.edu
Early America
Jordy Rocheleau
Professor
Harned Hall 332
(931) 221-7925
rocheleauj@apsu.edu
Continental Philosophy, Ethics
David R. Snyder
Professor
Harned Hall 328
(931) 221-7923
snyderdr@apsu.edu
Modern European, Military
Cameron Sutt
Associate Professor
Harned Hall 312
(931) 221-7941
suttc@apsu.edu
Medieval Europe/Middle East
Kevin Tanner, Jr.
Associate Professor
FCC Building
931-221-1447
203 Bastogone Ave, Office #206

tannerk@apsu.edu
U.S., Jacksonian America, Civil War
Antonio Thompson
Associate Professor
Harned Hall 304
(931) 221-7915
thompsonas@apsu.edu
U.S. Foreign Policy, U.S. Since 1865, German History, International Relations, Military History
Minoa Uffelman
Associate Professor 
Harned Hall 322
(931) 221-7704
uffelmanm@apsu.edu
US, Southern, Gender
Timothy L. Wesley
Assistant Professor 
Harned Hall 321
(931) 221-7361
wesleyt@apsu.edu 
US, Southern, Civil War, Reconstruction
Gregory R. Zieren
Professor
Harned Hall 330
(931) 221-7940

ziereng@apsu.edu
Gilded Age, U.S. Economic, Foreign Relations
 

Adjunct faculty directory.

Emeritus Faculty

  • Hugh Akerman, M.A., University of Florida
  • Thomas Dixon, Ph D., Vanderbilt University
  • Richard Gildrie, Ph D., University of Virginia
  • Preston J. Hubbard, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
  • C. Alvin Hughes, Ph.D., Onio University
  • Malcolm Muir, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Thomas H. Winn, Ed.D., Ball State University

Departmental Secretary

Mary Biggers, Administrative Assistant
Office: HA-340; Telephone: (931) 221-7919
E-mail:  biggersm@apsu.edu