The State of Tennessee requires that new full-time, first-time, readmitting, and graduate students entering institutions of higher learning provide proof of two immunizations of the Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR) vaccines. Tennessee law allows certain exceptions (see Chapter 1200-14-01 at http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1200/1200-14/1200-14.htm A student will not be allowed to register for classes until these requirements are met.
The immunization(s) may be obtained from your physician or your local health department. Once you have been admitted, you also can obtain the MMR immunization(s) from our APSU Health Services at a cost of $75.00 each.
You must have the Certificate of Immunization form completed and signed by a licensed health care provider and returned to Austin Peay State University, Student Health Services.
If you cannot provide proof of immunization for both doses of the MMR vaccine, you should take the first dose immediately, as there is a 30-day waiting period required between immunizations.
If you are a readmitting student or a graduate student eligible to pre-register for classes, you must provide proof of immunization (MMR only) prior to pre-registering for classes.
All TBR institutions will require documentation of 2 doses of varicella (chickenpox), or documented proof of having the disease by healthcare provider, or laboratory evidence of immunity to the disease prior to registration for all new, full time students.
Exemptions include students born before 1/1/1980, those students graduating from a Tennessee high school in 2016 or after, on line only students, medical contraindication verified by a healthcare provider, and religious exemption requiring a signed statement by the student that the vaccine conflicts with his or her religious tenets or practices.
The General Assembly of the State of Tennessee mandates that each public or private postsecondary institution in the state provide information concerning hepatitis B infection to all students entering the institution for the first time. Tennessee law requires that such students complete and sign a waiver form provided by the institution. This form may be accessed at the time of registration via the Web. When you register for the first time on the Web, you will automatically be linked to the form where you will be prompted to electronically sign the waivers.
Students under 18 years of age will have to download the hepmenform_2013.pdf for parental signature and turn it in to Boyd Health Services. Print and complete a hard copy of the form and return it, signed by your parent (only for students under 18 years of age), to APSU Health Services.
Meningitis vaccines will be available in Health Services at registration and during normal clinic hours.
Please send documents to the following address: